Posted by: octogirl7 | July 30, 2016

Sad story

If you’ve been reading my posts, you’ll know I recently moved to Kauai. So I’m legally able to collect shells. Well, I have tried to pick up only those that are not in use and not likely to be.

So I was surprised to discover when I brought home a shell yesterday, only to find a small crab in it!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Partial shell…and crab 😦

The little guy was not moving, so probably dead.  Having been out of the water for several hours.  Had I known it was there, of course, I would have not picked up the shell at all.  It was quite a surprise, as both ends of the shell were broken, so there wasn’t any “good” protection for the crab.  I’m surprised it didn’t run out of the shell when I picked it up.  So perhaps it was already dead when I found it. I’m sorry to be involved in this story…. I will definitely be more careful to really look before I pick up any more shells..

And from long past shell hunting:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A drupe, a turban and an i don’t know..

Learned that lesson….

Leave a Reply

Categories

