Posted by: octogirl7 | July 22, 2016

Potential Storm

I never like hearing there may be a storm…especially if we’re talking hurricane or tropical storm!  But I am hoping that Dora will go away…I’m praying too.

Clouds

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The most amazing clouds have been appearing lately

May I just say that Kauai is wonderful too?  I feel as if they need to invent another word than just GREEN for the trees and grass here.  It totally goes beyond just green.  There’s a vibrancy to it that defies my words.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The requisite palm tree photo…

Bet you thought it was all about the clouds, right?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

MORE pretty clouds!

The hardest part of this blog is deciding which cloud pix to include.

And from Poipu:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is worth getting up early for.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The rainbow gift

Oh yeah, you gotta love it when you pop up and see this!

And just in case you think this part of Kauai doesn’t have abudefduf, look below.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They come in groups here… and in this case, with a 4 spot butterfly.

For my sweetheart, who isn’t feeling well right now.  This will fix you up, baby:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nice little female…

The bottom is really different here, so it’s constantly drawing my eye.  And since it’s not illegal to pick up shells, I do sometimes.  But only if they are broken, not alive or not in use!  Hermit crabs can use old shells, so I only take the parts that cannot be reused. I still pick up broken glass almost every day.  Not sure if that comes from boats, or trash bags..but I don’t want folks stepping on broken glass.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

a cropped picture of a Drupe shell

Still alive, I think, so I left it.  At the bottom, too, you can see a small tube…I think that might be the animal, or so it appears to me.  Shells are amazing animals.  Look at some picture books: the animals sometimes are caught on film with their bodies outside the shells.  Just an incredible creation!

And further in the shell category, an Eagle Eye cowry:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s in the middle, hiding in the indentation on the rock.

It is in great shape and from that I assumed someone was still occupying the shell, so i left it alone.  I do love the cowries….very beautiful and diverse shells.

Can you stand another Eagle eye?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Blue fin trevally and snowflake moray. Click on it if you need to.

And before you think: How does she SEE those?! remember that the eel is usually moving, which draws the eye. Had it been stationary, it would have been harder to spot.

Another easier to see cowry:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

How pretty is that?

And if you agree, please do search online for more cowries: the varieties are amazing. Would I lie to you?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There’s your lizard, sweetie!

And there’s a very cute green land lizard near our place.  I’m going to concentrate on catching his photo sometime soon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think this is a cushion star.  I’ll look it up.

These, too, are not as visible on Oahu.  Can’t think if I ever saw one!

Please pray with me that the storm misses us.  I’m not sure if there will be any snorkeling this weekend, due to proposed high surf.  I love swimming, but not at the cost of life and limb. I am also praying for the families of those who lost their lives recently, in the ocean.  It’s so sad that folks don’t realize how strong the wind and waves can be.  Be careful when you’re near the wonderful ocean.

And in the good news category: spoke with a lifeguard at Poipu recently.  He said they don’t have the jelly fish visitations that we experience on Oahu, so that’s great news for me!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

