Posted by: octogirl7 | July 13, 2016

First octopus of this time on Kauai!

Hurray! Today I finally ended my spate of un-octopused-swims.  And yay for that.  Thanks, God!

I was actually thanking God and smiling into my mask when I saw this octopus today.  Of course, since it had been so long between views, I did take several pix.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The He’e is just to the left of the 2 white rocks on the right

Please note, I didn’t say they were great pix!!!  But I was smiling so hard, perhaps my hand slipped.  HA

Also saw some of the usual suspects:

Brighteye chromis:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just below the big red rock

Hawkfish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you look really carefully, you can even see turquoise next to its eyes. Waaaay cool

And then as if the octopus was not enough, I also saw a fish I didn’t recognize!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Again, not the best photo, but you can see the antenna on its head.  I will have to consult the books and internet to get wisdom on this one.  Unless any of the Oahu contingent recognize it?!  It was probably 1.5 inches long and very quick, flipping this way and that.

I was afraid at first that the following was an octopus, but I think it was a crab carcass:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Or as Alex would say: Crab-ness!

But don’t quote me….

And since we’re thinking of Alex, here’s today’s box fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Very cute, but in shadow, I’m afraid….

and the palm tree:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh palms and clouds, a heavenly creation

And my absolute, bar none, favorite puffer, the Ambon:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh man, it’s really small isn’t it?  Click on the picture to see the cool blue patterns.

And just so you know, kale and I could become great friends:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lunch at Tortilla Republic in Kukuiula Shopping Center.  Yum!

Had it been me being the chef, I would actually have left the kale raw, but it was good this way too.  Hiding under chicken.

There was an adorable and very pretty cat that meandered through the restaurant.  Finding two cat lovers at our table (my 2 friends…I like cats, but draw the line at feeding a cat from a restaurant table!), the little one sat and looked up at us, with those sad but lovable eyes.  “Feed me, I am really starving!” Which led to us discussing our various cats (again, my 2 friends took up the space in the conversation, as I have never owned a cat. Dogs rule, but they weren’t hearing that today.)

Anyway, my friend said her cat is fat!  I was kinda surprised/horrified, as I think fat cats are just out of shape and lazy.  (I DID warn you I’m not a fan, right?!)  I asked how fat?  She thought for a minute and said her cat is “not as heavy as a bag of rice!”  We all laughed.  It was such a Hawaii kind of thing to use as a comparison.  And that’s why lunch was so much fun….laughing with friends.

And just so you know that Hawaii is mega-cool, if you don’t already, there were many wonderful pictures I couldn’t catch on the way to Poipu beach this morning, like a wonderful rainbow and fluffy clouds, a bit of real rain looking like fog over a mountain top and nice trees.  Kauai invented green, I think.

And this flower from this morning:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I couldn’t make this up.

Isn’t it just the coolest?!  With the flower inside a flower thing going on.  And pink, too.

Clouds:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunrise

And there was a rainbow too:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had to adjust a bit so the roofs weren’t showing…

Ah, Hawaii is wonderful and Kauai no ka oi! (Nothing better!)

Thanks for reading.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

