Posted by: octogirl7 | June 5, 2016

Don’t run into the rocks!

When you are following a swimming octopus, it’s tough not to run into the rocks!  You are so focused on the animal and where it’s going, it’s hard to also notice what  you might be running into. Thankfully, I didn’t bash myself.

I had the pleasure of going outside again today.  Meaning into deeper water.  Further joy was provided by octopus #3, who swam a few times, so I got to see its color change as it swam.  And luckily for me, it also eventually settled on a rock:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #3 posing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Same octopus, different minute!

Please note that not only did it do a complete color change, but also made its skin go from bumpy to smooth. They are amazing.

And here’s how I got to go outside:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Flat as a piece of paper

With nice clouds, too.  Thanks God! It’s difficult to live in paradise, but we deal with it…..

A Bigeye Emperor:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Maybe my ninja skills were working today, because this one didn’t run away from my camera

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gosh, I love these wrasses! So colorful and speedy…

I got two chances to film octopus #3:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I caught this shot just as the octopus was preparing to take off

They are quick when they get going.

And here’s another of my favorite fishes: the Lei Trigger:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Muted tones, but a lovely design

And yes, this is a cropped photo….they are quite reclusive, so it’s hard to get a good shot when they are close up. This one was probably 16 feet away..

I also saw a lot of the “outside” fish that like the deeper water: yellow tangs, groups of convict tangs, Achilles tangs, and black durgon.

And lest you think I forgot to photograph the palms, I say nay nay!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nice palms and clouds

So, a very nice Sunday and I got to church on time.  Having seen 3 octopus…And, God willing, I’ll go again tomorrow. I might be able to get accustomed to this not working…for a while…Then we’re off to Kauai sometime later this month.  It’s exciting to think about what I might be able to spot in the water there… Stay tuned!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

