Posted by: octogirl7 | June 4, 2016

In this case, flat is good!

Often, people ask me why I have so many octopus objet’s d’art around me.  Stuffed animals, decals, even an octopus with the body shaped like octo-tentacles.  But an octo-radio?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh yeah….octo-radio!

I found it while cleaning, sorting, donating and packing the house.  Too cute, right? Of course, it had been in a box for a while, so the battery was dead, but still, very cute and functional.  It does actually work, and has a siren red button too, for emergencies.  HAHA

My pal Lisa is going to take it for me.  I really have to give, donate and throw away.  Our moving estimate was over $11,000, so it is definitely time to get rid of stuff.  And so the Goodwill, Savers and the libraries all over town have reaped the benefits.  I would take and show a photo of our house right now, but it would probably scare you.  It does me…

I even had to let go of the octo-gourd:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A darn shame

Yes, I opened it and there were shavings of wood inside.  I didn’t see a bug or termites, but I thought to be safe, I’d dispose of it.  But I’ll have this photo to remember it by…and photos don’t cost ya when you are moving!

Since the sun is coming up earlier these days as we move toward summer, I don’t get the lush sunrises at the Bay anymore.  So when I take pix of God’s rays, they usually have to include a building or two:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Still pretty, just busier

The water was very flat.  And with water, that’s a good thing:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hardly any waves

So I knew there was a possibility I could go outside the inner reef to see what was happening in deeper water.

But not before snapping a photo for my sweetheart of a palm tree:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The clouds were an added bonus

There was a young turtle around, too:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just swimming and finding breakfast

I had to let some people know later that chasing the turtles is not allowed…didn’t they see the safety movie?

So I did swim outside and the water was pretty nice out there also. Black durgon:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh yes a pretty fish

They have very cool patterns on their skin, too, but you gotta catch the shot just as the right amount of light hits ’em.  Not sure I’ve succeeded at that yet.

There was also a surprising group of bluefin trevally:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t believe I’ve ever seen such a large group

Usually I see the circling group of Bigeye Trevally, but never these bluefin.  Not sure why they were swimming together, but the two yellow tang were a nice contrast, I thought..

And of course the more rare of the durgon family, the Pinktail:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A deeper water fish…

Maybe they just like to have more water in which to swim.  I know I do!  Especially since it was pretty low tide.  And that means the water inside the reef gets churned up by the folks walking around on the bottom.

Nice pencil urchin

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are as thick as a human finger

I also saw a group of a dozen big eye emperor fish!  But of course, not all in one photo.  Drat.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Big Eye Emperor – at least 5 in this photo

They do blend in and also slide away when approached, so it’s tough to get a group photo.

And a humu:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also saw a Lei Trigger, but didn’t catch a great photo

These guys are all over the reef and they aren’t the most timid, so it’s pretty easy to catch them as they are swimming around.  Catch with my camera, of course!

And I saw 2 octopuses: one small one. Awwww…… See if you can spot it. Remember, I never said it was easy:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not an Eagle Eye Challenge, but not easy…

It’s the brown blob more or less in the center….the other humans scared it down into its den.  Well, to be honest, it didn’t like me either. But at least I was still and quiet around it. Not thrashing through the scene.

And here’s the adult

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nearly didn’t spot this one..quietly breathing in its den

And a cone shell:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See how they get muck on the outside? Good disguise

And something that I have no clue about:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am flummoxed about what it is…

I only saw it because I was going slowly and looking carefully…it raised its head and that motion helped me to see it. If you know, let me know.

So a great day in the water, to celebrate being unemployed! Yup, my last day was yesterday.  We are getting so ready to go to Kauai.  It’ll be fun to see what animals I get to photograph over there.  But I’ll be more close-mouthed….they can eat the animals there…..no eat octopus!!! Please….

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

