Posted by: octogirl7 | May 30, 2016

Unclear on the concept

Had a great swim this morning, brought in by nice clouds with some pink and flat-looking water on the way down the hill.  Great swim until…..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Great until this sadly misinformed woman persisted on standing on the reef!

Even though I told her she shouldn’t be standing on it because it is a live reef.  Her response?  “It’s ok, I’m wearing my reef walkers!”  Um, duh? It’s not about what she’s prepared for.  It’s be about protecting the reef! So after she called me a name I won’t repeat, I brought up my camera and informed her that she would be in my blog post today!  And out of kindness to her, I am not including the photo of her face.  She didn’t believe me, apparently, that animals could be living in that reef. And in fact, she was standing very near where I often see octopuses.  You KNOW how excited I am about protecting them….

But I’ll not let her spoil my memory of this dive.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nice sunrise

The calm and welcoming water:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh that it would be nice every day!

And no jellyfish!  One calendar I consulted had said there might be jellies today, so I looked out for them, but saw none.

There were even pretty palm trees:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Palms, clouds, ocean, pretty light: what more could one ask for?

A big eye emperor fish?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Big Eye Emperor slides away..

A humu?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see it blowing sand out of its gills.

This is a nice Barred File Fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sock Monkey Eyes…

This one is called Cliff Hiding:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 Sergeant Major fish were hiding under the overhang

Some Wana:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stay away from these. . . .

And a very cute 3 Spot Damsel was guarding its coral:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Very cute.  Maybe 2 inches long, including tail

They swim in front of coral, protecting it against intruders.  Being that small, not sure what it could do, but they do swim toward other fish, to try to keep them away.  Don’t think it would work too well if it was a big fish, but they do their best.

And a giant Trevally swept through

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hard to see, I know.  I swam after it trying to catch up…NOT!

This is octopus #2, blown up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a very wary octopus.  I found out that it moves from one den to another, depending on who’s snooping around.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #3

I agree, Eagle Eye Challenge!  The octopus is in the center of the photo.  You can make the picture bigger and go to the left of the yellow fish.  He was poking up and peeking at me.

Purple coral:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The light was a great contribution….Thanks God!

And since we are moving, I am getting rid of many things that are not essential.  One is my Dad’s old fishing hat!  In his honor (after all, he was a veteran and it is Memorial Day.  Well, OK, a Canadian veteran, but still!), I wore the hat to the beach.  It doesn’t keep much sun out of my eyes, but it is a special look:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus t-shirt doesn’t hurt!

And now I can send it to a Thrift Store and not feel bad at all….Appreciate your parents while you have them!  And all the vets too…

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

