Posted by: octogirl7 | May 29, 2016

Mellow day

Had a wonderful and mellow snorkeling day today before church. I was able to zoom over to the channel immediately, so I got to see the octopus that is becoming a “regular” before any others arrived….all good! Yes, it was in its den, but I was able to snap a photo:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #1

A gurnard was also scratching for breakfast on the bottom:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gurnard

I find these guys very intriguing: they scratch along the bottom for food. But they can also spread those “wings” and produce a lovely blue color in the sunlight. (Look for the video on youtube…octopigirl7)

Since the water was also quite calm, I was able to go outside the regular reef and found a few nice fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Black durgon and the cables

The cables are how I find my way out and back in along the channel.

Unfortunately, there were little things in the water, so it wasn’t as clear as I had hoped from viewing the Bay coming down the hill:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looks flat doesn’t it?

Certainly not complaining.  Although I did have to laugh: even though I got gas for our car and bought a snack and an after-snorkel drink, I still got to the Bay early.  And was treated to the first palm tree of the day:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes, there’s a palm tree near the car on those plaid shorts!

I shouldn’t make fun, as I am quite certain I often look a fright when I’m on the way down the hill, but I couldn’t help smiling. He was just trying to fit in.  And sir? If you end up reading this, thanks for making me smile! I know you are working to fit into the Hawaii lifestyle!

A yellow phase Cigar Wrasse also sped through the water:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t see this color very often, so wanted to memorialize it.

And that reminds me: since it IS Memorial Day weekend, thank you so much to all those who have served our country in the Military! And for my sweetheart, OOOOH RAH!!!

My fave outside the reef fish, the Pinktail Durgon was in fact present today:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These guys swim quickly away…Shy I guess

Did want to check whether the Big Eye Trevally were still swirling.  They were, but near the surface:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glad they don’t think I’m interesting….

And I found out that one of the Humu pix I took also had a rainbow…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Unretouched lovely colors!

I should mention, perhaps, that I never mess with my photos.  Occasionally, I will crop one to draw attention to something, but I don’t alter the colors or anything else with special effects.  These are all colors and shapes that God made.  I think they’re great as they are.

And a cute little Sergeant Major:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There have been quite a few little ones visible lately.

The neat thing is that they hide near a hole and when you try to take a photo, they’re not sure what you’re doing, so they dart into the hole to hide.  Just saying: not always an easy picture to get.

And Palm trees…the real kind:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA TG-3

I’m hoping if I tell others what camera I use, Olympus will send me another one.  HA!  Seriously, I do wish they’d bring the TG-2 back.  More my fave than the TG-3.

And last but not least, the Cowry shell that was hiding under a coral piece:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another tough shot to get.

There were 4 other photos that were JUNK, but this one at least shows the pretty and shiny shell.  And it’s still there, as far as I know.  Since we cannot collect shells.

Have a great weekend and be safe out there! Thank you for reading…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

