Posted by: octogirl7 | May 21, 2016

500?!

You might imagine how surprised I was today to note that this will be my 500th post!!! Guess it had better be good.

And it marks a busy time in our lives: gave notice at my job that we will be moving to Kauai before the end of June (hubby was promoted), so now we need to pack the house, find a place to live and find me a new job over there. Ah, nothing much going on. LOL

I did still take the time to visit my beloved Hanauma Bay, though. And two octopuses were cooperative in letting me see them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #1

This is one of my “regular” octopuses and I got there in time to see a flash of brown sink down into the den.  Timing IS everything! And if you have a hard time seeing it, look for the white of the siphon in the hole.  No one said octosnooping is easy.  Very worth it though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #2

Octopus #2 was a bit more willing to see and be seen. I do love how interactive they are: you can definitely tell when they see you. And they keep an eye (or two) on you also….not that I would make any threatening moves, but with this youngish one, it might not know that I have no evil plans for it.  They are protected in Hanauma Bay, but that doesn’t mean someone won’t scare them.  I do try to back off when I spot one. Partly because I don’t want to irritate them any more than taking their picture will.  But also because I want to see if they will rise above the rock and take a peek at me.  That is really a highlight of my day, when it happens. OK, with octopuses, I’m easily amused. What can I tell ya?

So the total for the day was 2 octopuses.  Yes, you’re right, that’s a low number for me.  However, factor in the low tide and you have at least a partial reason. The other reason is that some folks felt the need to stand around on the bottom and stir up the sand.  Which stirs up the water, which makes bad visibility. However, in the good news side, I didn’t have to give any lectures!  So that’s good.

The lifeguard did, though.  Whenever I hear them on the loud speaker, I pop my head out of the water so I can hear what they’re on about. Today was: “OK you people out near the white buoys!  There is a strong current in that area.  You do not know how to swim well enough to stay out there!  Please come back in toward the beach.”  Poor guy had to give that info twice…not sure if they were English speakers, but apparently they didn’t catch on from the first informational piece. Thank God for lifeguards and may I just say I could NEVER do that job! Waaaay too much stress.

Anyway, I digress.

There were also some very pretty clouds:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You might recognize the hill from previous posts

This is across the highway from the Bay.  I arrived early and had ten minutes to use wisely, so I did.  Pretty, right?!  Since I couldn’t paint that, I was happy to be around to document it.

I also spotted a frigate bird, way up in the clouds:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Frigates are a sign of storms coming

In case it’s not obvious, see that black speck?  That’s the bird. I hope you can click on it to see it. The wings are very distinctive.  They are also one of the robbers of the bird world: they will attack another bird to steal its food.

I did see both a box and a lizard fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nice little male trunkfish..

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wish octopuses were this easy to spot

But the more rare fish today was the small Devil Scorpion Fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I won’t blame you if you can’t see it at first

Look for the slightly open mouth with the bit of orange. Then follow it back, to the left, and you’ll see eyes and then the lines of the fins.  They are righteous ambush predators!  Still, silent, well camouflaged…and dangerous!  That’s why I hope people don’t walk on the bottom…they have fins on their backs that have poison.  But mostly, they stay still and then grab in a lightning quick strike! (For frogfish catching a fish, go to the youtube site, and ask for frog fish eats puffer. That was my very fortunate video!  Sad for the puffer, though…)

This one was not only probably young, because it wasn’t big yet, but also had some cool bits on its lower lip:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the upper right of the photo, look beyond the mouth and see what looks like protruding weeds…it’s actually part of the fish’s mouth

Designed, I think to entice prey.They have an odd humpy back, too.  Just an all around cool fish. But not one to touch.

And speaking of not touching, this humu was kinda upset with me, so it kept darting at me, to get me to go away.  Pretty brave, considering how much larger I am than it is!  Didn’t stop this guy though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He was eying me. And no, I don’t know it’s a he.  Not sure how to tell in this species.

I did see the young turtle again, but stayed away from it. And of course, plenty of abudefduf fishes:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Abudefduf

Still trying to figure out why I like this type of fish so much.  Perhaps it’s because they are very laid back and don’t freak out when they see people.

The sun really helped out with this one:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wrasse, trevally and goat fish. Nice colors

More light in a different way:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From the water, looking up

And don’t laugh, but the hard part in this one is to not get water in your snorkel!  When you look up, the tube can get into the water and then into your mouth. Try to avoid this experience. HA

I peeked in because I saw a shell and it turned out to be a hermit crab inhabiting:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The crab is green…and you can see at least one eye stalk.

Sadly, he fell down into the coral head when he saw me.  Apparently, I can be scary…

This porcupine puffer apparently had been bad…doesn’t it look like he’s in a time out?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To me, the rocks look like a corner in a room.  Not sure why they pause like his, but I’ve seen it before.

I have also heard that they can bite.  I have never seen them be at all aggressive, so it makes me wonder what the person around the puffer was doing at the time……I’m suspicious by nature, I guess.  Having seen videos of people feeding and then petting eels, I know pretty much anything can happen.  And PLEASE I beg you, don’t touch the animals.  You will get in trouble in the Bay, since it’s a Nature Preserve, but anywhere, you can train an animal to think it knows what you’re doing, then when the next person wants to eat it, the animal will be surprised.

And you probably will guess this is coming, but please don’t eat octopuses.  They are waaaay too cool to eat. And smart. And adorable. And interactive…am I convincing you yet?!

So thanks for reading and for “liking” my posts; you are helping me get to 500 posts!  I do enjoy writing them and hope you’ll consider continuing to read and comment. Oh and here’s today’s palm trees:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aloha.

Leave a Reply

Categories

