Posted by: octogirl7 | April 24, 2016

Closer & Closer

As we get ready for our next trip, I noted today that I was thinking to try to jam everything into this last snorkel before we fly: of course I couldn’t!

But I was able to spot 2 octopuses…all good.  And a turtle.  And a barracuda. The latter of which sadly blended right into the surrounding water, so only the black on the tail was even remotely visible.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have been seeing this young turtle a lot recently.

As I passed him, I asked him in my mind not to eat any octopuses.  We’ll see how that goes.

Palm tree:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s hard to go wrong with such God-given beauty all around!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #1 peeking at me from its den

I do love how interactive they are: you definitely know when they see you.  If you’re living right, they don’t sink back into their dens, but let you take a few pix.

The 2nd octopus was a young one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #2 peeking at me

There was a young Sergeant Major hanging with the big boys…well, relatively:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s a kind of study: how to be somewhat similar, bur really very different.

Lines from top to bottom, but coloration quite different. The way each moves is different, also. It does make them very easy to tell apart.

And a butterfly.  A Threadfin butterfly:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See the line of skin going back from the top fin?  Like a thread…

I always like to see these, as the yellow is quite cheerful.

And wana:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Something about these fascinates me…

And of course, the Abudefduf:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lighting really makes a difference

And last, but not least, the Lizard for my sweetheart:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just as if he were suntanning.  Which I guess he was..

So since we are visiting Wales soon, I have been practicing at least Good morning: Bor-e da. I practiced it this morning when we spoke to a relative whom we will be meeting soon:  He said oh that’s very good!  He added that there are no curse words in Welsh.  He said they get them from the Brits.  HA.  Glad we have people watching over our little abode while we are gone.  We will be seeing what the temps are in London and Paris.

I hope to continue to post a few pix while we are gone.  We’ll see what happens. Keep reading!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

