Posted by: octogirl7 | March 5, 2016

That’s art!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This wrasse is art!

How great are those colors?  and the design, with the red fins above and below. Yeeha!

LOVELY day in the water today. Oh yeah, that’s what I love to see.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glassy water. Flat as a piece of paper. Ideal!

Hardly a wave in sight.  PERFECT. Gets you revved up on your way down the hill.

This is a short vid of octopus #5.  This is the same octopus that was hunting a couple of weeks ago.  I didn’t see it last weekend or yesterday, so I was afraid it had moved along (in either sense of those words.) Happy to see that it was still around.

I was also very glad to see a young turtle as I started my swim.  Haven’t seen one for quite a while, so happy to see some are still around.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one had a tag on its leg, so I guess it’s being watched or monitored.  Or maybe just counted.

Thanks to the Hanauma Bay management, for replacing the old taped-together toilet paper holder.

Eagle Eye challenge:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #1

This octopus sat so still, I was almost afraid it was dead! I never did see it change color or move at all.  I couldn’t see the siphon, but I guess it was breathing…at least I hope so. I asked myself if it really was an octopus, at first. Its right eye is just to the right of the pointed lavender-tipped coral finger.

And I saw urchin feet!  at least, I think that’s what they were:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Click on the photo and see the brown feet adhered to the rock.

Up until today, it never occurred to me to wonder how they stick to the rocks.

I saw a small barracuda

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They always hang out in the shadowy water

Since it was such nice water, I also visited outside and saw one of my faves: the Scribbled File Fish

What a wonderful fish…big too! Probably about a foot long, including the tail. Of course, blue is my favorite color and I’m a sucker for pretty lines and spots…which this fish has aplenty. It didn’t appear to have a mate, though.  I usually see them in pairs.

I found Tako #3 on the way out, in the channel.  Quite a surprise:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #3, in a den in the outgoing current

Once outside the fringing reef, I saw all the usual suspects: black durgon, pinktail durgon, long nose butterfly, Achilles tang.  It was a good thing to see the Achilles tang, because it helps show how BIG this Giant Trevally was!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Giant Trevally with a pair of adult Achilles Tang

Yeah, a big fish.  I don’t care how accomplished a diver you are, when this thing swims by you, you notice!  I can’t guess its length.  It simply leaves the impression of BIG. Sleek and fast, too. This one fortunately wasn’t going full speed…if it had been, there wouldn’t have been all these photos…

No post is complete without a humu:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah, they check you out…

Octopus #3 is the regular that likes to blow water and thus sand toward me:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #3 thinking: I know how to get rid of you!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Unfortunately, that leaves sand and other schmutz all over Mr. Tako!

And the previously hunting Octopus #5

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #5 with rainbow light

Just chillin… Very thankful for a wonderful 2-1/2 hour swim with 619 photos! Aren’t you glad I don’t show them all to you?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Palms and the Moon

And sunrise:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lovely! Sunrise color on the water for Perry

B & P are going home this upcoming week.  We’ll miss them! But the grandkids are calling..

Thanks for reading.  I enjoy thinking you all get to come along, at least in your minds. Until tomorrow, God willing!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

