Posted by: octogirl7 | March 4, 2016

He went thattaway!

Thinking I had missed octopus #3, I was surprised to learn when I got the camera home that indeed, I had been able to see him…just barely:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #3 under some coral

Neat photo, right?!  I had to put the camera lower down than I was to catch it, so I wasn’t sure I got anything at all.  Good hider, this one!

I am still tracking the moon, and Venus, even though my new phone claims that it cannot do the star gazer app that my old one did.  Bummer.  But I still know which is which.  Moon being closer and bigger, Venus still right out there in the East, as I sit gazing at the water in the pre-sunrise time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Very relaxing, before all the hordes of people get here…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Moon and a palm tree or two.

The Moon, which was behind me last week, has moved.  I don’t mind.  Different day, different view.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one shows the rocks I like to sneak around to find all the octopuses.

Of course, when the water is low like this, it makes getting around tougher. And it didn’t help that I had to pick up someone’s shoe insole:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This trash made my pouch bulge out.

At first I tried to put it in my dive bag (sized maybe 4″ x 5″), but half of it stuck out.  This created drag in the water, so I eventually folded in half and stuffed it in my bag.  The nerve!  How could someone not know they left that behind?!

This pair of 4 Spot Butterfly swam by, munching as they went:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not my faves, but they are pretty.

Early Eagle Eye Challenge:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hint: peeking at me, peeking at me!

It’s octopus #1.  Which, surprisingly, turned out to be an octo-romance:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopuses 1 and 2: Love in the ocean

Octopus #1 on the right pretty much kept inside the den, with that angry dark maroon color.  Octopus #2 was more trusting..I had asked God to let the octopus know that I wasn’t going to hurt it.  Not sure if He did, but this one was much more accommodating than #1.

About this time, I got a cramp in my left foot, so I was trying to pull on my fin and stretch the muscle.  That usually works, but today, the cramp continued.  So I worked on the Be Still and know that I am God scripture (Psalm 46:10) and just hung in the water.  Eventually that worked.  During the rest, though, I was wondering if this was a word that I shouldn’t go outside my normal reef area. I always ask God if it’s ok for me to go outside.  Much deeper water and if you get into any trouble, it would take the lifeguard longer to get to me.  And swimming alone isn’t the smartest thing, anyway. I don’t really feel alone though, as I have many conversations with God in my mind.  A swimming prayer, I think.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one shows the bars that gave the fish its name (Barred Filefish)

They also have those sock monkey eyes, which crack me up.

Two lizard fish total..a big one and a little one. This photo has just the bigger one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Without the stripes, I would never know it’s there

A nice pair of Kole (golden eye tang)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just having breakfast

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This poor wounded eel was still alive

Kinda surprised me: I had thought when I saw it last weekend that it would die of its wounds.  If you look closely, you can see that its bottom jaw also is kinda separated.  I wonder what kind of fight it was in?! And with whom?

Once I went outside (after the cramp had gone away), I saw the group of Big Eye Emperor fish again.  This is one:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Big Eye Emperor all alone

I do love the design, with the nice reddish color on the edge of the tail.  They are shy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This Bluefin Trevally led me to octopus #3

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tako #2 just beginning to show me that it was time to go…just a little bit of maroon coloring.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Trevally were still circling.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pinktail Durgon

So adorable!  Lovely design.  The pink tail is visible from quite a ways away…

And another favorite, the Cigar Wrasse:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In deeper water. Maybe this should be an Eagle Eye Challenge!

Look for the orangey color in the middle of the photo.  That’s the fish.  Click on the photo if you need…

I call this Self Portrait with Fish

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m the one making the shadow over the goat fishes and the blue lined snapper. Don’t I look fit and slender?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ending with the first octopus I saw..with a bit of sand floating about.

I neglected to mention that there were Jellyfish major yesterday at this same Bay; over 100 stings and 3 ambulances were called. I walked the beach before finally deciding it would be ok to go in. I was very fortunate to have my prayer answered and saw only what could have been part of one…not sure:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looks kinda jelly-ish, non?!

Thankfully, I did see this near the surface and steered clear.

Oops! Almost forgot the pair of cowry shells:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aww! Shiny and lovely.  And yes, it’s always hard not to pick them up.

I’ll leave you with the peaceful scene that I saw hours earlier:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Muted pinks, pre-sunrise

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

