Posted by: octogirl7 | February 21, 2016

I blame the octopuses, the scorpion fish and the Giant Trevally!

OK, I think 560+ photos in 3 hours is a bit excessive, don’t you?

But I blame the octopus who hunted, the scorpion fish who truly showed its colors and the Giant Trevally who swam around and around and around me.  I had to take those pix and videos.  Really, there was no choice.

But it does make for a long time of reviewing, looking through all the photos after they are taken.  Deciding which ones are interesting enough. The only stress involved is making sure I don’t upload too many…I am coming up on my photo storage limit!

I saw 4 octopuses.  The one that I’ve been really following hid at first:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus overseeing his terrirory

This is the same octopus that later put on quite a show, hunting and flying and changing colors.  All the while fending off the attentions of the goat fishes in the area.  The trevally lost out this time…the goat fish, especially one really dedicated goat, kept up with all the flying and hunting, hoping for bits of leftovers.  But really, maybe the octopus scares things out from under itself and the goat fish makes itself available to grab up whatever flees.

We will return later to this energetic octopus.  But look at the photo below:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Would YOU guess there’s an octopus hidden in this picture?

And how did I know?  Well, first of all, what you didn’t see is the Convict Tang poke its nose into the hole guarded by that red rock.  And then back right up and swim away.  That, to me, meant someone was home!

Now, it could have been an eel.  But more likely, an octopus.  And it did indeed turn out to be Octopus #1, a surprise.  A treat.  A “new” octopus, not one of the regulars.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #1 well hidden inside its den

I know what you might be thinking: not a great photo!  What you don’t see is how I had to literally continue floating and then bend down and poke the camera just outside the den.  I’m sure I look pretty comical, with my derriere on the surface and the rest of me underwater. Yes, there is breath holding involved.  There is lining up the shot. But for all the work, I wouldn’t trade it with anyone!

The next surprise was finding octopus #2….and then seeing octopus #3 right next door.  About 7 inches away.  Oh yeah, there was love in the air.  Or perhaps more accurately, love in the water.  Octopuses ARE smart, so who knows if they have feelings?  One can’t say they do.  But one also can’t say they don’t!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two dens with but a single thought…

The den in the upper left of the photo, marked by red rocks housed octopus #2.  The den in the center, harder to see, housed octopus #3.  Later in the dive, #2 had his octo-arm snaking over to find #3. But they would probably say there were too many people around…one guy kept swimming over the reef, even after he announced to his friends that there was an octopus!  Some folks are not in tune, I guess.  That’s the beauty of darkness and park closure…they will have time to feel around for each other later today.  I hope!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #2

Unfortunately, this is the octopus that has figured out if it blows water at me, I will eventually go away.  I did, so it could have a victory in its day.  After all, if I irritate them, they will probably move away.  Then where would I be in my octosnooping?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus wound underneath itself

How well they hide! Sometimes it takes a trevally circling to help me see where they are.

Today’s Eagle Eye challenge:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See it?

No, it’s not an octopus.  I am still trying to prove I am not a one trick pony…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Does the yellow and red help?

It’s a Devil Scorpion Fish. I will upload to octopigirl7 on youtube.  The little blighter hopped along quite a bit, showing its colorful Stay Away From Me! fins.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I guess even Scorpion Fish need to yawn and stretch sometimes.

Def a face only a mother could love!

And a friendly male trunk fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Polka dots are in

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Clumpy nudibranch

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two Picasso Humu

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A sergeant “minor”…aww so cute!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #4 takes a bit of a breather from hunting.

But see the “skirt” between its legs?  It’s a cool webbing that helps them hold the prey inside, so they can catch and eat it.

This is, I think, the same animal that has been treating us to daytime hunting extravaganzas. In fact, the viewings were so extravagant today, that I actually started shivering from the cold. No lie.  If you lie still, filming, even in warm Hawaiian water, you’ll start to get cold.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love all the color patterns…

Resting before shooting off to hunt again!

The neat thing is that at one point, I was paused on the surface, filming the octopus as it hunted.  Then it occurred to me that I was between the octopus and the den I thought it normally occupied.  So I moved out of the way, and sure enough, it made a bee-line to the den on top of the rock!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not really an Eagle Eye Challenge.

Both octopuses 2 and 3 are in this shot.  It’s even got the tail of the bluefin trevally circling them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Shell.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Free swimming eel

The cool thing was that there was another eel that I totally didn’t see as I was shooting this shot.  There’s also a video, which I will upload sometime soon to octopigirl7.  The days are packed!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But at least no fish are trying to steal my breakfast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Giant Trevally swam around and around me.

These guys dominate the reef!  They are big, sturdy and fast swimmers.  The other fish RUN away from these fish.

To close with one of my fave octo-photos from the day…not sure why:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus at home

And if you are ever in Honolulu, stop by at Red C church. Just came from a great service, with a good message and great music.  You will be welcome!

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

