Posted by: octogirl7 | February 19, 2016

Nail breaking sunrise

For those of you who have been following this blog for a while, you know that one of my super powers is Nail Breaker Extraordinaire!

So I was sitting, minding my own business, watching the sunrise. One hand on the camera, one hand on the park bench. Lovely sunrise.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunrise around 7 a.m. Hawaii time

So after I document this nice sunrise, I looked down and I had broken a nail! Really?!?! No tough work had recently been done; nothing that I could chip the nail on; and on my left hand anyway, the one that doesn’t do much of the work!! Seriously?  This IS, by the way, a super power I’d rather not have.

Just sayin’.

But after getting over that frustration, I was able to shake it off, walk back to the shower area and get into my dive skin.  And get wet. Yeeha!

The first and 7th octopus (of 9 total) were FBT: found by trevally. That means the poor octopus is being harassed by a bluefin trevally.  The trevally are a lovely color of blue, I’ll give you that, but their eyes are dead.  They don’t interact with me at all.  In fact, they ignore me, focusing intently on the octopus.  I have seen it a hundred times: the trevally circles the octopus, hoping for scraps.  And if they can, they will bite the octopus, but I have only once seen any serious damage done (and I’d rather not describe that again….it was a baby octopus…don’t like to think about it…)

Anyway, this octopus #2 takes matters literally into its own hands, or perhaps, more correctly, its own arms.  It reaches out to smack at the fish.  LOVE THAT!  That’ll teach ya to pester the octopuses.

There are several more octopus #2 videos from today.  Fully out. Swimming, Hunting. Generally, just living the saltwater life.

Since I do not always copy the youtube videos to this blog, if you’d like to see more, please go to youtube and ask for octopigirl7 and then my channel. Subscribe if you like ’em!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus chilling under a rock.

I am sorry to report I must away: beef enchiladas need to be made and eaten!

Thanks for reading.

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. I’m so sorry😱. Carry some super glue!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >


Leave a Reply

Categories

