Posted by: octogirl7 | January 31, 2016

The start of the start

I thought of the day beginning when I saw this scene early this morning.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The clouds just starting their pink display.

I took another photo of the glass I found last week.  Not sure why, but the configuration of the glass is interesting to me:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You get extra points if you can name the wine that belongs to the cork!

I am happy that, by picking up this trash, I prevented a visitor from possibly piercing their foot…just another reason not to walk on the bottom of the ocean…

Spent a little time this morning with my phone…on the Skyview free app.  Somehow, it was a little off: I was looking at the moon and it had the moon a little off kilter.  But no worries: just happy we have all the planets and moon visible these days. (Visible meaning they are a bright dot in the morning sky…)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Moon shows up better when behind a cloud. Note the planet, too.

Sunrise

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You Know Who’s rays

I’m tempted to call tako #1 an Eagle Eye Challenge:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #1 IS in there…

Look just behind the rocks piled in front of its den.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This really should be an eagle eye challenge, too.

The only reason I even saw this octopus was because I remembered one being in this den in the past.  Who knows?  Maybe it has always been there, but I just wasn’t able to see it all the time.  S/he’s a pretty good hider!

Two trevally….cousins, probs:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The one with the stripes really catches my eye.

And their much larger cousin:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Giant Trevally

It’s the forehead that stands out as a difference from the “regular” bluefin trevally.  Also, a much larger fish, as well as much more shy and fast.  The fish get out of its way when it comes through…

And a sneaky Eagle Eye Challenge:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eagle Eye Challenge

And really, it’s not a fair challenge.  I took the photo and when I first saw it on my computer screen, I couldn’t see what I had snapped the shot of!  It’s a brighteye chromis. They’re small.  Fast and, well, they have shiny eyes.

Tako #3 also hiding well:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #3

Sometimes they move the rocks more into the den when they leave…kinda like locking the door.  At least that’s how I think of it.

A cute and tiny 4 spot butterfly:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4 spot butterfly: maybe 3 inches long, tip to tail

And a lovely cowry shell

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cowry…beautiful but no, I didn’t pick it up.  That’s a no-no!

Octopus #4

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #4

I found this one mostly because a bluefin trevally was following it….It stayed out this way for a bit.  Surprising. Then the trevally became more aggressive and it receded into its den more.  That was ok though: I was on a mission to get to church on time! (And I did)

But not without seeing

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #5!!!

I think this might be the first post where I put in at least one photo of each octopus I saw.  See it hiding under there?

And last but not least, on the way up the hill on the tram, I saw two whale spouts!  My first of the season.  Thanks, God!

Also, if you are of a praying persuasion, please pray for my knee:  It was a bit cranky still from sitting funny in the work meeting yesterday, so today it’s working out its kinks.

Thanks for praying and thanks for reading this post.  Thanks also to God, who provides!

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Beautiful day to be out. Good pic but all I see are rocks and pretty fish!


Leave a Reply

Categories

