Posted by: octogirl7 | January 9, 2016

Snorkel avec Marion et Nadia!

Today I had the pleasure of showing two ladies from France all around Hanauma Bay. The whole thing was a hoot, because both sides of the language barrier were in evidence.  There were words they didn’t know in English and there were lots of words I didn’t know in French! (Such as frogfish! Which we were able to spot, thank God.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My purple gloved finger pointing toward the Frog Fish.

We also saw an eel, fully out and with its mouth open.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beautiful eel

And we saw no sharks, so we were pretty happy with that, also.

Just before the sunrise:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just before sunrise…

And we spotted 4 octopuses!  Many were not at home ….I called home maison de la pieuvre… House of the octopus. HA.

I also pointed out the needlefish

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not sure if they saw what I was pointing at, because the needlefish are normally very near the surface, so are challenging to photograph.

Longnose butterfly:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Long nose butterfly and some sailfin and other tangs.

 

Marion enjoyed the humu, as did I:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Picasso Trigger (Humuhumunukunukuapua’a)

Of the four octopus I spotted, two were living near each other…un mariage! I only found the duo because one had its legs extended in the hole…it was moving rocks around.  The other one was up and over from the first one I saw.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #4 and blue line snapper

The cone shell this time was hiding under a stone outcropping:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cone shell

Eagle Eye Challenge:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopuses 3 and 4

And as usual: if it were easy to see them, it wouldn’t be a challenge! I will give you a hint, though: the one is in about the middle of the photo…it’s #4 sitting just out of the den.  Number 3 is near the bottom and is really mostly a leg…

And kids?  There were SO MANY good clouds and palms, it is very hard to decide which ones to include for you and my sweetheart!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Palms, clouds and light…

Sadly, for my two French friends, the clouds had more or less taken over.  But I’ll bet they had a chance to get some color on those bikini-clad bods!  And no, no pix!  This isn’t that kind of blog…..it could also be said that I have a bit more “extra” so I don’t ever wear one.  However, as I told the young ladies, that’s the one good thing about a bit more fat: I don’t get cold very often while in the water.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Again with the palms, clouds and light!!! Yeeha!

And as I arrived at the top of the hill, was rewarded with nice views of the clouds and light on the water.  But so far this season, no whales!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Merveilleux!!!

And thanks to God for safety and that no one was injured in the production of this swim! One never knows, with first time companions, how well they swim.  Next time, we might go outside the reef.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

