Posted by: octogirl7 | January 1, 2016

New Year’s Day, part 2

OK, this post will have no bullets!  (Except when I typed that..)

Decided that since hubby and I were out to have breakfast at the Original Pancake House on Kapiolani, that I would take my camera with me and document some planets and the moon in a different setting:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Moon and planet and..building?!

Yeah, sure looks different with a building below it, right?

And the internet had told us erroneously that the restaurant opened at 6…no, really, 7. So we had some time to get some exercise, since we had decided that going to the gym on New Years Day was just wrong. HA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Alex’s office and Alex in his new homebrew beer shirt.  It did feel weird to even think about beer at 7 a.m.

The office Christmas tree featured Hoops & Yoyo:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hoops & Yoyo start off the new year with a smile

Well, I was smiling…their mouths not so evident.

You can tell an office of archaeologists a mile away:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My office would frown on such a calendar..

They did have the correct response to the upcoming election:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Write in Anybody Else in 2016!

And for my friend’s son:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I do hope and pray should he ever meet a shark that it swims away.

Again, another way to tell it’s an archaeologist’s office:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

hahaha

And a reminder of Paris, where we spent Christmas last year.  Oh and needless to say: it was COLDER in Paris in December than in Hawaii.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eiffel tower on inauguration day May 6 1889

For those of you who aren’t Francophiles, they built this tower just for a fair.  It wasn’t designed to be kept up.  Someone once saw a postcard I have that’s like this and thought the tower was being demolished.  Different bodies, different thoughts!

The wedding dress shop was next to the restaurant, so I took a peek:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were no blue wedding dresses! Can you believe?!

Mine was blue.  I told my mother-in-law that I looked like a fat marshmallow in white, so I chose blue.

And I, somewhat sadly, discovered that I qualify for the Senior Plate!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In fact, I had been qualified for years and didn’t realize.

It was good too!

I was blown away by how empty a usually-busy Kapiolani was:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Normally, this street is somewhat of a nightmare.

But today, relatively quiet.  Of course, it WAS only 7:30 a.m. after New Year’s Eve.

And you should have heard the fireworks.  People give their dogs tranquilizers here, to combat their nervousness around all that noise.

May you and yours have a wonderful, blessed, safe & healthy New Year!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

