Posted by: octogirl7 | December 27, 2015

Sand is the bomb!

Well, ok, sand is not as cool as octopuses.  However, there is SO MUCH in the sand that we mostly wouldn’t notice.

I found an operculum and took the picture.  (As you’ll remember, the operculum is the “stopper” for the shell, so predators cannot enter the innards of the shell.) Then when I printed the photo, I found other cool shells nearby.

Here’s the original photo:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Operculum au naturelle

Then blown up once:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Operculum times 2

I think there are at least a couple other opercula nearby.  And other cool shells, too!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And we all thought it was just brown stuff!

There were also 5 octopuses today and a frog fish. I told my sweetheart that the frog fish was getting boring: hardly ever moves! And of course, not so pretty:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Frog fish…same pose, different day.

See what I mean? OK, its mouth is open a bit more than yesterday, but really.  Unless they are eating or moving to another spot, it just don’t look that different from any other day I’ve seen it. However, it’s a whole other story if you’ve never seen it! It becomes a challenge.

Two octopuses actually blew water at me.  Have they been talking to each other?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #2 blows water at me

You can see the siphon and the eye above that.  And of course the gunk in the water once it blew at me.

Almost forgot sunrise:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7:08 a.m.

And palm trees

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Palm trees, clouds and the moon!

Since I’ve been concentrating harder lately, because of the funky visibility, I found a turban shell.  It’s really too bad we cannot collect these.  And no, I’m not going to start.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Turban shell

If I HAD to guess, I would guess it was not in use by the original animal.  When occupied, I usually see them with the open end down in the sand, with the shell on its back.  In another shot, I saw a bit more inside the shell and it looked filled with sand.  And if you’re thinking OK, then why not harvest it?!  Two reasons: 1. illegal and 2. a hermit crab could be homeless if one takes these shells!

I did see a cute little hermit crab walking around inside some coral, but I couldn’t catch the action.  So many times the light is really wrong, or the the animal is smaller than my capabilities to shoot.

And I have gotta remember: Soon I’m going to do another color study, but this time with orange:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Orange

There is just so much of it!  Lots of it is rock, but some is fish fins and some is sunrises.  Endless possibilities.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Even the tough humu has some orange.

All it will take is time and snooping back through previous months of photos.  It might take a while: considering that for each blog, I take about 350-400 pictures, it will be some kind of project to look back into them all and copy out the oranges I found.

And last but not least: the plant that really wanted to live…so much so that it placed itself in between lava rock wall and sidewalk. Now that’s determination:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh crazy determined!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

