Posted by: octogirl7 | December 26, 2015

A good problem to have

Today the problem appeared to be rain…it rained on me on the way, but amazingly stopped on the Hanauma Bay road.  I thought: It’s All Good!

But then it rained.  It was sad to see all the visitors run for the bathrooms!  One of the places one can get out of the rain.  I was thinking Why is it a big deal to have rain?  You’re going to get wet in the water anyway.  I guess some folks come to the water for the sand and sun.  How crazy is that?

The real problem ended up being losing count of the octopuses I saw!  Either 7 or 8.  Now that I don’t carry my octo-counting sheets anymore, it can be tough to remember.  Not that it’s hard to count to 8, but when you sometimes see the same octopus again, it’s hard to get back on track.  No matter though.  I any case, I saw a lot of octopuses!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus 6 or 7

Hiding pretty well. In fact, the final 2 were deep in their dens.  I would have chosen that path too, as there were far too many people from other countries who didn’t get fins, and so were either walking on the coral with bare feet (always a problem!), or with tennis shoes.  The man I spoke with today said He spoke only Mandarin.  He explained that his wife didn’t have fins, as if that was a good excuse to walk on the coral.  As my husband would say: Can’t shoot ’em!  And this, even though they got the safety lecture. I do pick up the shards of glass that I find on the bottom, but I can’t get them all! Not to mention the scorpion and frog fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Frog fish IS hard to spot. 

Pretty much the exact same color as the rock.  You can see the open mouth to the left…and the left “foot” is resting on the rock at the bottom of the frame. I had the pleasure of pointing it out to two people, who were excited too. My work was done.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yellow finned surgeon fish

This was a whole group of a dozen of the little beauties.  Another wonderful design from God. These were the first fish I really admired, years ago on Kauai.  Very laid back and beautiful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Palm tree and rain out at sea.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Divide and conquer.

This started out as a group of 5 humu, but by the time I got the camera on and at my eye, there was a group of 3.  Note how they all went in different directions.  Pretty good survival strategy!

Of course, with rain, there is usually a rainbow and today didn’t disappoint:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rainbow over the beach

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octo ornament

Aw so adorable.  Given to us by a friend.  It even is personalized…probably the closest I’ll ever get to actually owning an octopus…only a fake one will do!  They get bored in aquariums…and try to get out.. and sometimes succeed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus about 2 yards from the frog fish.

Now I KNOW that a frog fish would enjoy eating an octopus, so let’s hope that never happens.

Presents from the Kauai family:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lovely quilt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octo-cubes.  SWEET!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A very nice bag to go into my purse. 

Of course, our house is usually in much better shape…but yesterday, we had Christmas wrapping paper all over.  (Good excuse, eh?!)

And

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sweetheart with Christmas lighting…he wore them to church.  HA

Hope you and yours have a wonderful Christmas season!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

