Posted by: octogirl7 | November 26, 2015

Small rules the day

Today, after all the sunrise photos, I finally got into the water.  I had been waiting for more light; then when I got it I had to take photos! So I didn’t get into the water until 7 a.m.  And I found 6 octopuses, 3 more than yesterday, so maybe waiting is a good thing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #1 – a youngster

Admittedly, not a great photo, but I didn’t want to get too close and freak the little guy out. You can see its eye and the little siphon. Aw so cute!

Then in one of my “regular” spots, I found not one, but two adult octopuses. Apparently they were celebrating Thanksgiving with togetherness.  Well, at home in dens next to each other.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #2

All you can see is the bit of maroon of its body inside the hole.  Look above the red rock.

And apparently, #3 liked red too:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #3

Click on the photo.  Look just to the left of the white and red rocks in the middle of the photo.  You’ll see the siphon.

And of course, there was peeking:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #2

Peeking to see what I was doing.  Just in case it had to bolt down into the den. So shy sometimes!

Next octopus was mostly out when I first spotted it:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #4

This is another regular, #5:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #5 seems to hang upside down

Most of the octopuses I see have their bodies nearer to the bottom of their dens.  This one likes to put his “head” down and then wrap his body over top of that.  Maybe a good survival strategy, now that I think about it.  Protecting the brain…but then, again, he didn’t tell me anything, so I’m guessing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Same octopus, different moment

I had swum away, to give the octopus a chance to regroup.  Apparently, I can be intimidating in the water. When I was approaching, it was fully out of the den, but slipped a bit back and down when I got closer. Eventually, it got tired of being watched, turned more maroon, and slid down and away.  If only I could get them to know I mean them no harm.  The down side of that learning is that they might trust the wrong person.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See the little guy with the yellow behind?

That little fish was so amazingly brave! It took on a much larger fish, nipping it on the tail to get it to go away. Bird wrasse male:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See what I mean? The big green versus the small one with the bright eyes: the Brighteye Chromis.

The little guy was full of strength and bravado, if not size.  And the wrasse went away.  After a few more tries to get whatever the chromis was hiding…I’m thinking eggs.

And finally, the big eye Emperor

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Big Eye Emperor

This is the small version. I think they are cuter when they are “pups” as my hubby would say.  When they get bigger, they become less compact and it’s hard to describe.  I just like ’em when they are this size.

Well, I’ve had my nap, and hubby is starting our Thanksgiving dinner: turkey enchiladas!  Oh yes.  Thankful again for such a willing spouse.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

