Posted by: octogirl7 | October 11, 2015

Swimmin’ in the rain…

I’m not going to say that swimming in the rain is my favorite thing, (because we all know my favorite thing is octopuses), but it was nice today.

After all, you’re swimming, so you’re already wet. No worries there. It has the added benefit of making some people get out of the water or perhaps not get into the water in the first place.  All good!  I am a loner in the water, so fewer people is all good.  After all, my fave animals do not enjoy crowds.  Maybe that’s why they are my faves: I’m not a fan of crowds either.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OK now click on the photo

Oh yeah!  Olympus TG2 rocks!  You can see the droplets.  And let me know if YOU know: does the rain fall in a round shape, or are the round shapes the water bouncing on the surface and coming back up?  Inquiring minds want to know..

But once again I’m getting ahead of myself….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gotta love this clouds, rock and tree combo! And I forgot to mention the pink.

The sunrise was muted this morning, no screaming pinks, but very nice nonetheless.  And for those of you who love to stay in bed in the morning, it didn’t show until about 6:15 or so.  You could have had a few more minutes of sleep.

And there were not many waves, and not much wind, which means clear water:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gorgeous!

Think Barbra Streisand in Funny Girl, when she sees Omar Sharif for the first time, close-up. Oh yeah! But you can see the parts of really clear water.  Sometimes, it looks clear from up above, and then surprises me when I actually get in.  But today was one of those mostly clear water days.  Love it.

Sweetheart actually thought I didn’t put a palm tree in my post yesterday.  AS IF!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

who

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

loves you baby?!

It amazes me how something that is basically just green and brown and tall can look so totally different, depending on the cloud cover and lighting.

Five octopuses today.  WOW. After the 7 yesterday, I was afraid that maybe they’d take the day off.  After all it is the Sabbath and God did. (My dictionnaire said that the Sabbath can be either Saturday or Sunday.)  One octopus actually blew water at me, which made me laugh.  It’s practically the only soundtrack on my videos.  Other than breathing or wave noise.

I did see a turtle.  I’ll give you the photo before it totally turned away from me.  Who needs turtle butt photos anyway?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Having a little brekkie.

Octopus #1 came early in the swim, quite to my surprise.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just clinging to the outside of the rock.

I’m actually surprised that this octopus didn’t suck itself back into the den.  Perhaps it just froze there until I left.  I did see it, though.  And it didn’t change to that angry maroon color, either, much to my surprise.  It does seem smarter to stay camouflaged..

The female bird wrasse and some coral:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You might want to click on it, so you can see the little darling a bit bigger.

I enjoy these fish because they have cool striping, and the colors stop halfway down their face.  They are quick little fish, too, so it was nice to “catch” this one near coral.

This would be an Eagle Eye challenge, but you’ll know what it is.  The hint is peeking at me, peeking at me:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus #3

Now that I look at it again, you might need to click on it, to see the eye peeking out from the den.  It amuses me when they do this, because it shows how curious they are.  I twinkled my fingers at it, and then drew back out of its view.  It poked out more, to see where I had gone. And then popped right back down and in, after it saw me.

And maybe for the first time, I caught some gold saddle goats.  Normally they are too quick for my lens.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see where they get their name.

Still bottom feeders, but pretty ones.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Remember the name of this one?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wana. As in you wanna stay away from it. sorry.  Besides, you say it Vana. Very pokey.

I don’t normally have the chance to post an anonymous photo of what NOT to do, but in this case, the faces were above water and served to protect the innocent.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not the best place for a chat.

See how the water gets stirred up around their feet?  And no, contrary to what you might guess, I did NOT blast them with my visibility wisdom.  Figured they were on Spring Break and were just trying to have some fun. In the wrong way, mind you, but not everyone is a water purist like me. Also, and this was a shocking realization to me recently, the world does NOT revolve around my needs and desires! If they did, there would be no one in the water but me!

This could explain the absence of one of my regular octopuses:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah, this sneaky little eel was waiting near an old octo-den.

And last but not least, a waterfall

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

apparently, it rained quite a bit while I was swimming

Oops! Almost forgot octopus #5

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octo #5 portrait. What a lovely octopus! (Quelle jolie pieuvre!)

Still gotta get that French into the post! Amusant, non? Merci bien pour lisez!

Leave a Reply

Categories

