Posted by: octogirl7 | September 7, 2015

Another blurry day underwater

Today was no better, visibility-wise.

The Bay was still very much a washing machine of waves and water and splashing off the rocks.  The lifeguard walked around to people, telling them to stay out of the water beyond the reef.  He didn’t need to tell me twice!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes, this is what gets you in trouble!

I am reading Genesis again, to help study for the teaching session that will start on the 20th. So this helped me look at the moon and clouds and sun, imagining what a planet “formless and void” might be like. But it’s hard for me to imagine nothingness.  No sky. No clouds.  No water. No rocks. Of course, there weren’t any people then either, so no one noticed the lack of scenery.  Well, except God.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can barely see the moon..it’s a little less than half strength right now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Maybe you can see it a bit better now.  Got a crick in my neck, looking straight up!

Of course, I always enjoy seeing The Bay in the morning, even with waves:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see the waves sweeping in…this is what helped make the vis bad again.

It was still nice to get in the water, even if the visibility made it really hard to see much more than a few fish.  No eels, thank God.  But no octopuses either.  Still, I’d rather have bad visibility than a big hurricane!

Been there, done that.

They had over 32 stings yesterday from jellyfish.  So the signs were still up this morning.  So I spent maybe 20 minutes walking the beach, looking for the little buggas washed up.  Didn’t see any.  Didn’t see or feel any in the water either, so very thankful for that.

I did switch to the macro lens on my camera and found some good beach stuff:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Macro beach

I was intrigued by the white “stone” in the middle, with the orange in it.  Wasn’t sure how that happened.  Can there be white coming out of a volcano?  It really looks as if the white enveloped the coral color.  Also, a good thing I didn’t see the little shell to the left, the one with the hole and little lines.  I might have been tempted to “harvest” it…which is a no-no.

I do wonder about that first, long ago sunrise: were there clouds? I shall have to look up the creation order again.  Sun before clouds?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nice colors, right?!

And I love this cloud:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Creating it all with just a word.

Majestic, non?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nice and unusual clouds with sun.

I don’t often see it this way, with so many clouds all resting gently against the sky.

And there were still palms, of course:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two fer one: palms and clouds

This is a picture of wave chaos, in my mind:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Waves going all crazy, several sets one upon the other.  and also bashing against the cliffs.  Don’t go out there!!

But there was still time for the fish to hunt:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bluefin trevally hoping to get some of what the goat fish found.

It’s harder to think of eating goat fish these days…they are always rooting around on the bottom.  NOT the cleanest place ever.

I will remain hopeful that all this storm action will be gone by next weekend, and I can cruise in my bay again, and see my octo-pals!

Leave a Reply

Categories

