Posted by: octogirl7 | July 25, 2015

Does the octopus get accuweather?

My sweetheart asked today if the octopus gets accuweather..ha

The accuweather reported big surf on the south shore, so we were thinking perhaps the octopus sought calmer water.  Could that be why there were no visible octopuses in my dive today?!!

AGAIN!?!?!

Maybe it’s a mistake to pray and tell God that seeing whatever He wants me to see is ok.  I DID add that I would LIKE to see an octopus. But it was not to be….

Even lacking the octopuses, I still found it necessary to take 300 photos….and videos. Yeah, well. You never know what you’ve got until you get it home, right? And I’m working on not letting the lack of octopuses impact the joy I have in being in the water.  For the most part, the water was clear and pretty calm, and the sunrise and clouds were good…see if you agree:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This turned into this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Which morphed into this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

great painter…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wow.  Is it just me or is this really awesome?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pretty clouds…at first it looked like smoke from a fire…

And today I was sporting the t-shirt my cuz bought from Melbourne Aquarium: Thanks, Janet!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A selfie

And for hubby:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Palms, clouds, sun, your basic paradise…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The male is the most colorful…

Find the crab:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eagle Eye is getting so good, it’s tough to challenge her!

This little fantail file fish didn’t run away….odd…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But I did catch the shot while the spike was up and the tail fanned out…

Saw a few examples of broken coral today, always sad to see:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have heard sometimes you can glue it back on..no glue with me, tho’.

And there were rocks on top of the octo-den…as far as I could see, no octopus was hiding inside.  But you never know! they can be sneaky buggers…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There was also a live shell:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Both sides looked similar.  And no, I didn’t “collect” it. I keep my shell collection on beaches all over the world! (Thanks to Steven Wright for that thought.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can just hear it asking: Why are you following me?!?!

And in the “What is it?” category…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At first, I thought it might be trash..

And having learned my lesson with the Frog Fish, I didn’t touch it.

But it sure did mystify me!  It was dark gray.  And what you cannot tell from the photo is that the part nearest the bottom of the photo moved in the water’s current, rather like a fin would.  I’d feel pretty stupid if it was a glove someone left behind…

Perhaps I’ll be able to find it again tomorrow and see if it has moved.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At this point, about 2 hours into the dive, my camera battery blasted an orange color, so I had to switch to the backup camera.  Just in time for the cowry shell

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It looked to be a money cowry. Again, didn’t collect.

But before I forget, I did make 75 cents today!  Someone is lacking their 3 quarters. (Hint to the wise: Do not take valuables into the water!!!)

And the Giant Trevally duo were harassing an eel:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah, I know you’re just waiting to take a piece outa me!!! (But it didn’t. Thank God.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look carefully.

Because the sun was behind the subjects, it’s harder to see the 2 Giant Trevally and the eel. But they are there.

and

God took care of me, too, because the eel swam away from me.  Toward the other swimmer.  But she was ok.  Apparently, we were large enough to impress.  Or at least deter the eel.

I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 and a half hours….but where are the octopuses?!

Responses

  1. Looks like a good day octopigirl🐙 next time😊


Leave a Reply

Categories

