Posted by: octogirl7 | July 22, 2015

It didn’t rain on us in the water

God be praised, it rained on the way to the Bay, but not while we were swimming.

SOMEBODY that was with me was lacking in body fat, so he didn’t want to stay in too long…too cold.  Actual blue lips! Can you believe that could happen in Hawaii?

I won’t mention names, but his is a Biblical character…

Anyway, we had some rain that we were able to take a photo of:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Part of the scenery disappeared with the rain.

But Deb did spot nice sunrise colors:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Worth getting out of the car for.

My dive buddy and I did spot a barracuda, but the picture was lacking…they tend to blend in and swim away into the gloom.  It was probably about a foot long.

And now for Eagle eye:  find the crab:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nowhere did I say it would be easy…let’s just say, it’s between a rock and a hard place…

I spotted the first eel of 3:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just a little guy. Maybe the width of 2 pencils put together.

And plenty of cone shells:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hebrew cone, I think.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you click on it and look in the middle, you’ll see some kind of clear substance…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think all 3 were occupied, but I didn’t pick ’em up! (And neither should you…poison barb on the slender end.)

If you youtube “cone shell” you can see how they swallow and poison their prey.

Two cucumbers.  Well, sea cucumbers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two cucumbers and what would a cucumber be without the poo?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Those little pellets are poo.  I only know because I was once observing when the digestive system got going…if you know what I mean.

And the very pretty Picasso Trigger or humuhumunukunukuapua’a.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I never get tired of these feisty colored fish!

And sadly, no octopuses were at home today. I try to not be sad, but then I remember seeing 10 and 15 in one dive!  Where have all the octopuses gone???!!

We did see a big Giant Trevally glide through. I love their silvery sides:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They, like the barracuda, are able to swim through quickly; it’s hard to catch a good photo. They are there and then not!

We saw both big and little cornet fish.  Love those!  This little one was so skinny that you could see its internal organs:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not the best photo..it is in the upper left quarter of the shot. The dark parts are very near the top.  Think of a slender clear pencil..

We of course saw plenty of urchins of various shapes and colors.  This one had several rocks on top of it for protection.  I’m surprised it could move at all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Can you spot it?

It’s below the white coral.  Below it and you’ll see 7 rocks on top of a maroon thing. That’s it.

Pretty good protection, I’d say.

There was a big eel, but didn’t capture a good picture of its face.  Here it is from the side:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was in this hole

and if you click on the photo, you can at least see its teeth.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Very sneaky.

I haven’t personally tested their eye sight, but I’m told their sight isn’t good, so don’t get too close.  They’ll probably go toward movement…they’ll think you are prey!

Another cuke with different color patterns.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 I’m told they feel kinda jelly-like. I have no interest in touching them…ewwww

Now here are the eggs, probably some eggs of a nudibranch:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The white part is the eggs. They are laid in a slim band and then attached to the bottom.  Seems a pretty precarious place to put eggs, but…nobody asked me..

Near the end of my dive (while Blue Lips was recovering from the chill), I found this pretty little shell:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Mind you, this is a macro shot, so some of the photo is out of focus.

But you can see the shell, attached to the rock and seaweed.  It has pink on the top.  Pretty patterns, non?

I did see a small snowflake moray, making a break for it, but it’s a movie, so I’ll have to download it on youtube. Look for octopigirl7.

Nice time in the water. Highish tide, so we were able to get more places.  And if I were less paranoid, it might have been a good day to go outside the reef, but taking chances is ok when it’s just me and God; when I have someone else with me, I’m inclined to be much more careful.

Until next time….I remain octogirl7!

The link above is the snowflake moray short video.

Responses

  1. I saw the crab before I read the hint under the picture….but it took me a lil while to find it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

