Posted by: octogirl7 | July 18, 2015

I almost cried…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus one and only

It took me one hour and 40 minutes, so when I found this new, young awesome octopus, I almost cried!

The octopus sightings, you may have noted, are fewer and further between these days, so I was doubly happy to see this little guy.  He never did turn that angry maroon color when I snapped his picture.  Maybe I’m not as strange as I used to be or maybe he doesn’t know enough to be scared of humans yet. I’d like to think he doesn’t need to be afraid but after all, this IS Hawaii.  People are not supposed to eat octopuses in Hanauma Bay, but in other parts of the ocean, it isn’t illegal. (Although I think it should be widely frowned upon everywhere! But maybe that’s just me…)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octo eyes and a few warts

I do really love that they can not only change colors rapidly, but also add warts to their bodies to disguise their shape.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The big peppered moray was looking at me, too. I don’t like to get too close…

I have almost neglected the sunrise:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Doesn’t it almost look like someone running on top of the clouds?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Palm tree and cloud for the HUSBAND.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And because he coined the phrase, another sergeant minor… see him?!

I saw several cone shells, but this one was weird:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Weird because it looks like 3 edges of cone shell, instead of one smooth edge…

And for Isaac: a toby

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They are afraid of me, I guess, and they hide under overhangs…

And as I walked up the hill:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am blessed to see this every weekend!

And I picked up this trash:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes, that is NOT my mask and snorkel.  Someone had lost it and I found it on the bottom.

Unfortunately, I found it very early in the dive and was lazy to get out, so I hooked it around my dive bag belt and dragged it behind me.  There was also a strap to a fin. It does amaze me what ends up in the water!!

And so you don’t have to think of trash all day, a pretty cloud to close:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

quite lovely. Thanks God!

Responses

  1. beautiful photos! I still can’t see the octopus but I guess my eye isn’t trained like yours is…b

    • Thanks, Ms. B! Look for the crevice in the rock…the octopus is in that..

  2. Great pictures!!!!

  3. more great cloud pictures! 👏👏👏for the 🐙!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

