Posted by: octogirl7 | June 4, 2015

No lectures

I was good today and didn’t lecture anyone:  My rule is that if I can’t be kind while doing a lecture, then I don’t do it.  There were a few coral sitters, but old acid tongue would have given them what for, so I didn’t. Maybe I’m mellowing…..ha

Maybe it was the influence of seeing an octopus! YAY!

The octopus was peeking at me…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, it is there, just not as easy as usual….

This one might be easier (same octopus):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was before the octopus blew water at me…the rest of the pix have sand in them! 🙂

Moonscape:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There I was awaiting the sunrise.  When I remembered the moon set!

Clouds, oh yes there were some:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nice clouds and colors…and palm trees!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The rain later hit the bay, too, but didn’t bother me.  I was wet already.

Sunrise:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh I wish I had this good of a colorist to do my hair!  Instead, it’s me and a box.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Octopus locating purple coral…up and to the right to see the octopus of the day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wrasse poking into the possible octo-den….at least, I’ve seen some here before….don’t know if it was home today, but I didn’t see it.

Three yellows:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

From the left: saddle back butterfly, red tail snapper and 4 spot butterfly.  They cooperated with me!

And here’s another pretty yellow fish, one that I don’t see very often, the millet seed butterfly:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Millet seed butterfly

Notice those stripes, made up of spots of one size and then another.  Intriguing, non?

And I’ll have to admit: today was low tide again and I got a bit beached.  And as I stood up, and looked down to see how to walk around the rocks to the shore, this is what I saw:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Stocky Hawkfish

Cool, isn’t it?  The water was so clear right there, you can hardly tell he was in about 5 inches of water.  Needless to say, that is waaaaaaay less depth than this diver needs, hence the getting out and walking back.

I was, before I got out, almost accosted by an eel, but luckily for me, it was the not aggressive, snowflake moray:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When I saw this one, I was SO very thankful that it wasn’t an aggressive one!  There was very little wiggle room to escape it…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The trevally is what alerted me to the coral and the eel.  Small, but cute.

Back at the office, I told my co-worker that I could get accustomed to this swimming every morning!  I probably couldn’t get accustomed to the lesser pay, though!

And I’m glad no one gave ME a lecture about getting caught in low tide water!

Leave a Reply

Categories

