Posted by: octogirl7 | May 29, 2015

Pousse Cafe sky

So I’m guessing there aren’t that many serious drinkers reading this blog.  But years ago, I found a very cool looking drink called a Pousse Cafe.  It has layers and apparently if you try to make one, you have to find the density of the alcohols, because a lighter one will float on top of a heavier liqueur.  More to the point, the sky reminded me of layers this morning

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See? blue, then pink, then white then blue.

Actually, it is kinda different than the “real” thing:

2816246803_0af2e09999 pousse cafe

Apparently, you can also set them on fire.  Please DO not try this at home!  Just look at the sky between 5:30 and 6 a.m.; you’ll get the same effect and you’ll still be able to drive.  (I have never tried one of these, by the way, but I do think they look really cool!)

Sunrise:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Dark blue, gray, orange, a bit of pink and yellow.  quite the masterpiece!

And I had confirmation of some bad news:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I had read a sign about this upcoming race…

and called the police. the nice lady went to investigate with a co-worker and determined that yes, it will be difficult to get to Hanauma Bay on Sunday morning! DRAT!  Just sayin’. I was going for 6 days in a row…..Maybe Alex and I will go after this mess of a race is all over…..the nerve!

But when I did arrive at the Bay after all the sunrise photos, I was greeted by a quiet ocean:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See? Nice water.  You can also, see, however, all the rocks in the middle.  That means low tide.

But I was able to eventually see the octopus, so it’s all good.  And I did go outside this reef, but the water wasn’t as nice as I expected. I didn’t watch the octopus for long, thinking maybe a lot of them disappeared because some chick kept peeking into their homes!  You never know what they might be thinking!!! So uncommunicative.  Well, other than turning maroon, that is.

More picturesque scenery:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hawaii is an expensive place to live, but I get this scenery at least twice a week!

And a very pretty flower, all by itself:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Right in the midst of all that greenery and sticks.  That flower was a blessing.

The surprise was the aggressive humu:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Humu charged me!

This little guy was a brave fish…he totally flew at me a couple of times, trying to get me to go away.  Which I did, eventually.  (Well, you can’t let them be in control……then they’d next be asking me not to swim at all.  NOT LIKELY.  God willing, I’ll still be swimming for many years.) So once I swam away, he left me alone…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Two wana..Operculum between them?  Not sure, but I didn’t want to go in there and get poked…

Christmas wrasse…very pretty

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the pattern on its back, as well as the cool blue fins on the side.

And speaking of blue, I saw one of my all time favorites: the white cheeked tang! Unfortunately, I saw it just as I was coming in, which was a battle because the outgoing water was strong!  But I caught a few pix:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

White Cheeked Tang…very nice lines, and cool colors…especially the white on its cheek!

Also a pair of Scribbled Filefish, found outside in the deeper water.  Love them too!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You know I love blue.  But the patterns, spots and lines on this guy are really lovely.  Long tail, too.

A lei trigger slowly swam by, too:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love the designs on this guy…muted colors, but still pretty.

And to close, a photo of the one and only octopus, being shy:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Admittedly, you really have to look: you’ll see the eye just above and to the left of the lavender rock. Eagle eye: got it?

After a few days of not seeing any octopuses, it is a blessing to see even one!

No frog fish today, by the way.  Some divers were standing on the bottom and kicking up the sand in its area, though.  Hope they didn’t squash him!

Leave a Reply

Categories

