Posted by: octogirl7 | May 28, 2015

Since you asked….

So Eagle Eye had asked me if eels ever chase me.  Occasionally, but not often.  But since she asked, of course, today, one did!

That’s the youtube address for the shaky video….shaky because I was trying really hard to get out of the eel’s way.

Here’s the photo that came before the video and the charge:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course, I had looked over because all the fish were milling around…

Not something they normally do, so it drew my attention. You might have to click on the photo to see the eel in the middle, mouth agape. Yeah, that’ll get your attention!

I left the house much earlier this morning, so I was able to get some nice shots before the sun actually rose above the mountains.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m normally more in the V of the hills, but this seemed good too.

I’m still working on finding that perfect shot for the Annual Directory.

Sunrise, a little later:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh yeah!

More than worth getting up early…

And for Alex, a slightly different pose for the palm tree:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see that I was going to be able to go outside the reef again, but didn’t. There was plenty to keep me occupied inside the reef.

Like an octopus!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ooh Rah!!!

Hiding, but there, still.  I had a few minutes earlier peeked into its den, so then later swooped back and the octopus was up and peeking at me.  They are so curious.

Snowflake moray, just so you know not all the eels chased me:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh look at those nostrils!

Not that they would ever blow their noses (and let’s not think about that!), but how would they, when they protrude like that?! (You’re thinking about it, aren’t you?! HA)

Just a few minutes later, I spotted the sprightly rock mover wrasse, which hardly ever is still:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I hope I get to see some adults soon…They lose the “antlers” when they get older, I believe.

And one of my abedufduf fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I do love how the light glances off of the fish sometimes….

And bringing a little color into the gray of the sand, a parrot fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Parrot fish…probably about 9 inches long.  So, a small one. But pretty!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is a male bird wrasse.  This guy was terrorizing smaller fish around him.

And care for a cigar?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is not the lethal kind of cigar, of course.

And I did manage, after 3 tries, to find the frog fish again:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Little eyes to the left.

And I didn’t realize until looking these frog fish up on Google, but they have 4 feet.  Not obvious from my pix, as this guy is usually pretty hidden near the rock.  But it makes sense: they would be more balanced on the ground than with just 2 feet.  And by the way, you should look frog fish up!  There are some really crazy varieties.  Not lyin…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see the protuberance on its head better in this shot.  at the top of the photo…tail to the right.

Another great two hours spent enjoying the ocean.  God willing, more tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

Categories

