Posted by: octogirl7 | May 10, 2015

Well that’s awkward!

So when I arrived early to church today, everyone asked how many octopuses I had seen. When I replied ZERO!, my pal Karen said: Well, that’s awkward!

Oh yes indeed!  Of all the reasons they gave for this lack, my fave was that perhaps all the octopuses were having lunch with their Mothers! ha.  Oh yeah, i’ll take any excuse.  I did enjoy the swim, but do notice that if I don’t see any octopuses, i feel that something is missing!

And for those of you that are mothers, Happy Mother’s Day!  And for those of you that had mothers, Happy Mothers Day to you, too.

and to tell you the truth, this holiday always kinda bums me out: I wasn’t as nice to my Mom as I coulda, shoulda, when she was alive and I miss the chance to make it up to her each day of each year. Thankfully, I was nice to her in her later years and was able to be around when she passed away, so I feel somewhat better.  But hear the lesson: be nice to ’em when you have ’em!

You probably already knew to do that.  I’m slower than some folks..

Again today, nice half moon:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today, I once again left home early so I could snatch a few sunrise photos:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Clouds on fire.

And it was nice to learn that the clouds are scenic:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was not so nice to learn that some folks drive like speed demons when they think the road is empty!  Whoo-ee!

Thankfully, I was safely off the road.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now that is worth getting up early for.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sunrise with palms for hubby:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and once I actually got in the water, what with all the cats and the clouds to distract me, it took me a while:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I do dearly love the sun reflected on the water, especially when I’m horizontal in the water at the time.  A little hard on the neck, but worth it.

Only saw one eel.  It took me a minute to see what it was, and by the time I did figure out it was a snowflake moray, fully out of its den, it was back in its den…Just a little one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OK, Eagle Eye, can you spot it?  and on to the wrasse and trunk fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Saw a pair of box fish, too, but they weren’t in the same frame:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That’s the Mom. And here’s the dad:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Charming fish; never bother anybody.  They only occasionally zoom away before I get a photo.

And last but not least, the rock mover:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t know if it’s their movements, or the fact that I know all the different changes they go through, appearance-wise, but I love these guys. Any animal that can move a rock bigger than they are with their mouths is aces in my book!

A closing cloud:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And a closing thanks to God, for the safety and the beauty and for allowing me to enjoy it, octopuses or no!

Leave a Reply

Categories

