Posted by: octogirl7 | April 18, 2015

It might not be trash!

So this morning, I found more than the usual amount of trash.  Whenever the waves are bigger, more flows into the Bay.  I found the usual scrunchie, and lots of plastic sheets.  I even freaked out when I saw a hand out of my peripheral vision.  It turned out to be a latex glove that was full of water, so it looked as if it had a hand in it.  Blcch!

I also found a little yellow gear, maybe part of a tourist camera.  So I picked all this up and put it in my little waist dive bag, where I also keep my backup camera.

So later, when I saw more yellow, I thought it was more trash.  So I picked it up, only to have it shoot out of my hand! It was a small, yellow phase Frog Fish!

I have never been more surprised in my life.  I’ve been swimming in Hanauma Bay for 20 years and have never seen one of these guys!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So way cool!  Just goes to show you, be careful with any trash you pick up: it just might surprise you! I was kinda glad I picked it up with my gloved hand…

Also saw two octopuses.  The first one I found because there was fine sand in the water.  I thought: possibly an octopus had blown out water and sand with it:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one was quite near the shore, but down away from the most populated part of the beach.  This is also near where I had to get out: the tide was so low coming this way that I knew I’d never be able to swim back without dragging against the rocks.

Almost forgot the sunrise:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love, love, love how the sun reflects off the water.  One does get a little crick in the neck, though, since I’m horizontal while in the water and I have to rear my head back and out of the water with the camera to get the shot.  It’s worth it.

And not that you need another demonstration of what not to do (walk on the rocks), but here’s a shot of the wana that is really pokey…one does NOT need that in the feet!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look how slender those spines are.

Saw a big eye emperor again:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They are just so cute and cleanly patterned.

A pair of lined butterfly fish swam quickly by me

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAJust waaaay too pretty.  And too quick.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See the flounder?  He moved off, too, but the video is kinda jerky.  Smallish one.

And for octopus #2, at least I wasn’t the most irritating creature around:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is one of my regulars, who wasn’t home earlier when I stopped by.  When I made a 2nd pass later, all these convict tangs were dining right around its den.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And a box fish for the birthday boy…Happy Birthday, bebe! Yes, this is one of your presents..ha.

and a little toby (yes, it’s magnified)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They are so cute, but so quickly frightened by my immense mass…well, relatively.

And the day would not be complete without my pal, the peppered moray:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Glad he didn’t seem too interested in me…

And no swim would be complete without the Picasso trigger (humu).  This one was hiding because the visitors nearby were walking on the bottom

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And for you vegetarians out there, the cucumber:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course, that’s a joke, because this isn’t a plant…but the macro did help me see things I haven’t previously seen. Love that macro feature.

and to close, contrasting clouds from the water.  I love how a cloud can make such a difference in the water reflection:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I left the Bay, I made sure to report my frog fish sighting to the Ranger.  He said some other regulars had seen a group of three on some limu.  What a buzz kill!  I had thought I was the only one that had such a special present.  But really, glad those frog fish are around.

Leave a Reply

Categories

