Posted by: octogirl7 | April 12, 2015

Love, Light and Octopus

The love is how much I loved the water today: clear, just the right temp (cooler than bath water, less cool than requiring a wetsuit) and full of cool animals.  Only filled with one octopus, though.

I had just about decided, after almost 2 hours in the drink, that it would be ok if I didn’t see any octopuses.  After all, God gifts me with them quite often and the water was pretty and there were a lot of nice fish.  And I thought maybe all the octopuses were somewhere else today.  I am chortling to myself, as I have joked in the past that they might all be in church or at a conference.  I am chortling, trying to think what an octo-sermon might sound like.  And as far as the octo-conference goes, at least they’d be able to take notes, drink some water, and eat something all at the same time, with all those arms.

Now, back to reality.

The light is the sunrise, and it actually occurred to me to make a whole separate post today, just with cool clouds and light. There were just so many of them and all different!  With 231 pix and videos, you would imagine that at least a quarter of them would be sunrise….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I like the symmetry of this one, above.  rocks on both sides, I mean…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one I liked because of the light on the water…almost stripey..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You’d almost think it was going to dump on us, wouldn’t you?  It didn’t, though.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This  is more of the light.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ah, God’s glory is showing!

And that reminds me: I just realized that I am at 72% of the allowed space for my octo-blog.  Any ideas on how to save the earlier posts, so they don’t get lost?  Not that they are all totally memorable, but since it’s my first foray into blogging, I’d hate to have to lose those earlier posts…If you have any wisdom, please comment for me…

It occurred to me, also, that the more recent posts have lots of big pix, so that’s part of my problem. Those, of course, I do have saved on my computer and go-flex drive…

OK, back to the underwater adventures…

As I mentioned, it took me almost two hours to find my one and only octopus.  Early in the dive, I beat Larry into the water, so I swam over to the den of my “regular” octopuses.  Here’s what I saw:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That’s the den, normally occupied by one of my regular octopuses. However, today, she was missing and had presumably balanced this big red rock on top of the den to keep out intruders.  Quite clever, I’d say.  Of course, that begs the question: what kind of intruder would this keep out? Certainly not another octopus, unless they respect the privacy, especially if marked by a rock, of other octopuses.

SO, maybe an eel? They don’t have arms or hands, so it might be a deterrent.  I would love, sometime, to actually see the octopus leave, possibly to go hunting, and putting the rock over its den.  That would rock as a video!

Near the end of my dive, I revisited and …

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The rock was rolled away and the octopus was at home!

(Yes, it occurred to me to make an Easter parallel, but that seemed kinda silly. Besides in the Easter experience, the rock is rolled away and NO ONE is home…)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And if you couldn’t see that bit of leg she was showing above, here she is…breathing.  Wishing I would go away.  If only she knew what trouble I went to to find her!

If anyone knows, please tell me what this brown bubble is:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have been seeing this type of thing quite a bit recently.  It looks to have some gas in it that makes it rise.  Algae?

And for my hubby, two nice things, the box fish and the flounder:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIn this shot, the flounder was just gearing up to fly off.  Not quickly, but away it did go.

And of course, I couldn’t collect it, but here’s the remains of a cool shell:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Small, but nice.  I could see it as an earring of one…

I was going to make a post about twins, but I’m already at almost 700 words! Maybe as a photo essay at another time..

And I did see a well concealed eel today:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

His side and his nose…I tend not to want to get too close to the tooth-end of the animal.  But you can just see him peeking out of the hole in the rock.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And for my eagle-eyed friend, a shell: Try to find it first without clicking on the picture.  The hint is: it’s round on the sides…

OK, before you think I’m completely too wordy, a few final pix.  The first of which is the purple flowers I saw yesterday, but was too lazy to take a photo of.  That was wrong and I apologize!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See how I arranged the underlying materials to make it look natural? HA. No I didn’t.

and here’s the super macro (c’mon, you knew there would be one!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Picks up all the pretty and all the imperfections, too.  I wonder if these delicate blooms will be there next week, when I hope to return?

And here’s the view going down the hill that makes all the visitors ooh and aah:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And I am blessed to see this weekly!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah, bebe!  That’s what I’m talking about!

Responses

  1. Hi Karen: for saving earlier parts of your blog, there is a way to download your blog in wordpress. That would keep it on your computer, but I don’t know how to keep it accessible to others. Or, you could set up a new blog with links to the old one.
    By the way, I was reading a linguistic discussion about Anglicizing plural Latin nouns and ran across your animal, which is Greek not Latin, so plural octopus can be Anglicized as octopuses, as you do, or go with the Greek octopodes. Unless, of course, octopus went from Greek through Latin (octopoi?) into English….


Leave a Reply

Categories

