Posted by: octogirl7 | April 4, 2015

Aquarium after my nap

Now that I’ve had my Saturday afternoon nap, I feel energized to post the pix and thoughts from yesterday’s aquarium visit. But first, wanted to let you know that we had a very cute little girl in the office this week, whose hand was going literally cup-to-mouth to eat something.  Couldn’t see what it was,until I stepped into the cubicle to do my thing in the bathroom.  And there, in the toilet bowl, were two lonely cheerios.  HAHA.  Now I know what she was eating!  A friend said that her friend once taught her boys to use the facilities carefully by telling them to aim at the Cheerios in the toilet bowl.  Smart mom!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I almost left this smaller, so my eagle-eyed friend would have to work harder.  Many people passed by the aquarium, thinking the octopus wasn’t there.  They certainly can blend in, can’t they?

The large clam offered a nice background to the little fish, I’m thinking a type of clown fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ll bet this is a cousin to the bright-eye chromis that I routinely see.  However, it wasn’t as flighty and quick.

Here’s the fantail filefish, the one that runs away from me constantly while I’m in the ocean:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The white lines behind him are the antenna of a shrimp.

And there was a group of eels:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve never seen anything like this in the wild, in fact, I rarely see more than one eel in the same area…and if I do, they are the same type.

Pipefish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aren’t they the cutest?  Of course, sea horses are also very cute.

And this little leafy scorp is definitely something i have never seen in the wild, but a very pretty specimen it is:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is a special treat to take pictures of these animals, as they can’t get too far away, being tanked and all.

I have a special fondness for hermit crabs…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Those little orange legs are just the cutest..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OK, eagle-eye!  Find the two fish.  Moooooo…..

And my nemesises ( or is it nemisi?) the jelly fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They have a huge tank of these guys at the Waikiki Aquarium. Not my fave animal, but certainly beautiful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What an amazing creature. I can hardly wait until I can get back into the ocean to swim for octopuses.

Have a wonderful Easter! He is RISEN!

Leave a Reply

Categories

