Posted by: octogirl7 | March 19, 2015

Lovely Kauai – part 1

It’s amazing, I know, that I was able to be talked out of snorkeling on any island other than Oahu on the weekend.  But my choice was to go to Kauai and see family (and my husband) or swim and then be alone for 3 days.  I opted for the former.

Love my family and even those who are family via marriage.  Alex’s twin brother and his wife would be on-island for a week; we had 2 and a half days.

Winner!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Tree Tunnel, going into Koloa Town on the south shore.  After Hurricane Iniki, many of these trees were blown down, so it was good to see them come alive again.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My friend lives a minute from this beach, which often hosts turtles and whales.  They seem to get many more of both than I see here on Oahu. She pays less rent, too…what’s up with that?!

Of course, we did get in the water, hoping for octopuses.  No joy on that, but I did see a damsel fish that I don’t see on Oahu:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They have a neat blue dorsal fin that isn’t present in the ones I normally see.

And we were happy to see the pinktail durgon (trigger fish):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And to save you commenting that the camera didn’t do as well here, the probs were deeper water and more people stirring the water up.  But the pinktail was great.  Love those fish.

Since I didn’t have octopus to keep me occupied, I tried my hand at some flower pictures:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I also learned that the macro feature has added things to consider: in the yellow flower, the stamen in the middle stood out quite a bit from the flower itself, so it wasn’t possible to get a clear focus on both.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was amazed at how many varieties there were to see.  Again, God’s creativity at work.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The camera caught the water droplets, too, as well as the deeper pink strikes of color on the pink flower.

So once we had the relatives from California with us, we got back in the water:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cornet fish in a group.  Normally, in Hanauma Bay, they don’t go down into the water like this, so I had a rare chance to snag them in a better altitude for photos.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This appeared to be a puffy sand dollar… and no, I didn’t pick it up.  I thought it was probably still alive and didn’t want to mess with its day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And for my eagle eyed friend, find the eel! It was a small one, with just his/her nose poking out of a hole.

Because I work to keep my blog posts mostly upbeat, I won’t go into the issues we had with the hotel on Kauai….but it did help us go in search of good coffee which led us to Passion Bakery & Cafe!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A positively WONDERFUL bakery and cafe, with great coffee…and even 9 grain croissants!  And before you wrinkle up your nose in distaste, I think the French are missing something by not also doing these.  They were tender and wonderful; you could hardly tell them from the regular croissants.  And as a frequent Paris visitor, I know my croissants!  A day that starts with good decaf coffee and croissants is bound to be a great day!

Leave a Reply

Categories

