Posted by: octogirl7 | March 14, 2015

Be careful

When I arrived at the Bay today, I heard that two people had drowned yesterday.  A married couple.

Very sad.  Apparently, they were down on the right at first, then ventured out a little beyond Witches Brew.  A cautionary tale: be careful when you are in the ocean!  The ocean is NOT your friend. I think many people get a glamorized view of the ocean, seeing it from above and noting how pretty it all is.  Or seeing video, even mine, that make things look interesting and pretty.  But there are many dangers.  The important thing for me to note is that one should never swim beyond our abilities. The signs: “If in doubt, don’t go out!” are there for a good reason.

I have been guilty in the past of going a bit beyond what I should do, especially while filming.  Some would even say, and they’d be right, that I shouldn’t be swimming without a buddy.  Guilty. Prayerfully, I hope this will never come back and bite me.  I will say I don’t go outside the reef, and thus I stay in lifeguard easy range, most of the time.  I’m sorry for the family of those folks who died yesterday.

Talking about tako seems frivolous after all that.  But I did see 4 octopuses today.  The last one was very well hidden.

And I saw no jellyfish.  Very thankful for that.  It was calendared to be one of the two days when they would be possible.

Sunrise:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah.  Seeing these amazing colors never gets old.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Snowflake moray:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For me, it’s kinda rare to see the tail end of one of these guys…

And for my friends at work, here’s one with the turban shell and its operculum:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For those of you that might be unfamiliar, the operculum is a very cool creation that blocks and locks the animal inside the shell.  I imagine it helps stop creatures from trying to invade the shell and grab the animal. I think in this photo, you can see just a bit of the animal too.  I don’t know that I’ve ever seen one in the water that was so clear.  I have found a shell part on land that did still have the operculum intact.  And it probably still is, although I couldn’t guess where this shell is now….i have a few in my collection.  (And in case you are wondering, this shell is still where it was, as far as I know.  Not allowed to pick shells here at Hanauma Bay.)

And here is octopus #2, a regular:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If I could just train them not to be afraid of me!  I’d get much better shots…LOL

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A bit more yellow for ya.  I enjoy these bluelined snapper…they are never afraid of me!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See?  They both have stripes, but look totally different….tang vs snapper vs. butterfly.

These lined butterfly are gorgeous.  And very disinterested in me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another try at catching the brighteye chromis on film.  Near pink coral. This is the patch of coral that takes a beating from the uninitiated, as they can catch their fins or bellies on it in low tide.

Octopus 3.  Each photo had him slinking down more and more into his den.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But though he slinked down into his den, he eventually popped back up to see if I was gone.  Of course I wasn’t!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And for my dear hubby, here’s the box fish.

And the feisty one that later was chasing another male around the pond:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

He’s the blue part hiding under the coral head.  Apparently, chasing others is tiring work.

Still photographing coral, but they often look very similar to previous shots, so I don’t often include them in the posts.  But here’s one from today:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI enjoy the different colors and if you get up really close, you can see the textures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sun did peek through the clouds a little bit.  It feels more intimidating with these gray colors, doesn’t it?

Another bigeye emperor:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI don’t care what anybody says, I still think they are cute…at least when they are pups!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And a bit of nice aqua on octopus #2…

And just so you don’t think that I don’t care about terrestrial things, here’s one of the little flowers I found on the walk up the hill:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And closing words: watch your kids and friends when they’re in the water….it’s trite, but better safe than sorry!

Hubby and I will be off island for  a few days, so I may not post anything until our return. Be safe!

Leave a Reply

Categories

