Posted by: octogirl7 | March 11, 2015

Three in 5 minutes!

Three in 5 minutes!

As usual, God was looking out for me!

On my first day back in the water in two weeks, I saw 3 octopuses in the first 5 minutes.

And then it took an hour to find any more. LOL

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is #3 octopus.  The first two hid really quickly, so I saw them and then they were gone, withdrawn back into their dens.

And only one eel, this one hiding quite well…just saw his nose:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You’ll have to look really carefully, for the dark triangle that is its nose.  Ready to pounce.

There wasn’t any pink to the sunrise, but I did hear the white rumped Shama singing in the background as I waited for more light before getting in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nice clouds.  And nice mostly clear water, too.  And for my first day back since the two weeks off for healing, it was ALL good!

And for those of you with eagle eyes, here’s the bright eye chromis:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have to be careful….recently my Eagle Eye #1 friend found that part of the photo had been cut off, showing only 2 of 3 fishes.  This one has just one chromis, near the middle.  They are so cute, but so quick and quite shy.  (Not as bad as the Fantail Filefish though…those fish are just too flighty….)

And for my friend at work who refuses to read my blog, here’s the pink goatfish. That’ll teach her! ha.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the little Ambon Puffer.  Another shy fish.  Why are the pretty ones so skittish?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s another one for the eagle eyes in the group…

And here is octopus #3, hiding…but not quite enough.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Look left of the red rocks….a bit o’tako!

And here’s the long nose butterfly fish, I think.  (I’m told there’s another fish that looks a lot alike.  When I get to my fish books, I’ll compare to determine which one it really is.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And not to beat a dead horse, but again with God Creation vs. evolution:  Tell me.  Why would this fish need to have two different shades of yellow?  What survival purpose would that have?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see the yellow on its back and the different shade on its nose. Just sayin’

This one is find-the-shell:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not that we can shell hunt in Hanauma Bay, but if you cannot immediately see it, it’s covered with gray stuff just like the bottom.  Look for a triangle-shaped shell, with the widest part at the bottom side near the floor of the ocean. Of course, since they have a barb with venom, I didn’t turn it over, so I don’t know which type of cone it was.  I tend not to touch anything, especially since it is in recent memory when I saw the small scorpion fish, right where I always swim.

And a surprising find: fish spine bone right next to octopus #4.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Any ideas?  The tail should tell me and i THINK it might be a trevally, but can’t really tell.  You can’t see the octopus in this shot, but its den was to the right of the fish bones.  I do wonder if an octopus would do this….i think the bones would be more dismantled, but really, I’ve never seen an octopus spit out bones, so who knows?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sorry about the cloudiness in this photo of octopus #5 and its accompanying trevally, but I was in the more cloudy part of the pond at this point. You can see the octopus hunkered down, with not much more than his eye and part of his brown body showing.

I really wish I had all my photo gear at the moment, but this one has the octopus #3 with the trevally just above it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I agree, it’s very hard to see.  Look for the blue above the rocks and then look down for the octopus, which was just peeking out at this point, having already seen Big Scary Me.

This one is much easier to see:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is octopus #3 again…if I can, I always peek again, just to see if they are still around before I get out to go home or to work.

A very nice swim.  Hats off to God for providing the cast of characters and the nice water! Great to be back.

Leave a Reply

Categories

