Posted by: octogirl7 | February 22, 2015

Yellow

Yellow

Today as I was swimming, it struck me how many different yellows there are in the fish.

Yellow is NOT a color I usually consider wearing, so normally it doesn’t really register with me when I see it. But once I started looking, wow! An amazing number of fish wear this color, whether on fins, stripes, tails or eyes. I am trying to figure out how best to portray this in a combined fish photo, without using umpteen zillion pieces of photo paper.  I’ll let you know how I do.

Even the fish (Robert F. Myers calls it the Christmas wrasse) I love taking pictures of, because it’s so brightly colored, helped me out today:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See the fin on the side?  YELLOW! and a lovely blue…

But first, before revealing the exciting number of octopuses I saw (oh, ok: 2), Here’s the sunrise shot:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love how the pink goes into the clouds, too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Don’t look now, but there’s some yellow in this shot, too.)

And the yellow really appeared once the sun did:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See? Now you must agree how much yellow there is; sometimes it sneaks past ya.

I saw three eels today: a snowflake moray, a big green headed one and a whitemouth moray:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Because I have often posted pix of the snowflake, I’ll just do the whitemouth moray today.  (Even though the snowflake does have yellow on it.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is octopus #2.  Breathing.  You can just see its eye: look up from the siphon (the white tube) and you’ll see a bit of red.  That’s the siphon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Same photo, but cropped, so you can see the siphon and eye better…i hope!

So, I’ll work on the yellow photo, possibly combining a bunch of fish to show their yellow parts.  But here’s today’s post’s last yellow:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A bit of yellow rock.  Oh, and there just happens to be a bit of octopus #1 below the yellow.  She lived through the night.  It’s all good!

Leave a Reply

Categories

