Posted by: octogirl7 | February 20, 2015

An hour and a half of bliss

An hour and a half of bliss

The water wasn’t perfect yesterday when I took 2 hours to swim, but I did see 4 octopuses, one of which was swimming free.  Well, if you count swimming with the trevally chasing it, that is.

But here’s the sunrise colors before I got into the water:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pink is a lovely color in the morning.  I also like how it reflects on the water.

There were some spots of funky water.  We are having lots of VOG, which is bad for lungs, but great for snorkeling, since it means no wind, which means no waves.  Which normally means no bad visibility, but today was different.  We’d be bored otherwise, right?

Here’s tako #1, peeking at me:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just below the big red rock, you can see just his/her one eye, trying to figure out what I was doing and why. But in any case, keeping an octo-eye on me.

There have been lots of nice parrot fishes in the neighborhood lately, too:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lovely critter, even if it does make breakfast of coral.  You can see the toothmarks on coral all around the Bay.

Most surprising was the group of 4 brighteye chromis: they are so quick in darting away, that it’s rare I get one in a photo, let alone 4.  By the time I got my camera up, though, one had darted off to the side, so this one has only 3 of them.  Little yellow fish with big eyes:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking at this on this post, it is REALLY hard to see all 3!  There is one in the middle, one halfway to the left and then one almost at the top. I won’t blame you if you cannot see them all.

And here’s the octopus that flew with the trevally, once it stopped:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This one was doing the “peeking at me” thing too.  The blown up sand on the right is leftover from the trevally, apparently thinking the octopus had turned up something good to eat, which dived into the bottom.  I don’t know if it got anything.  My focus is always on the octopus. Surprising, I know.

And later, after I swam off, thinking to leave the poor thing alone, I looked back and it was peeking up at me again:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They definitely keep a sharp eye out for predators.  The funny thing is that other fish can totally swim by it and seemingly not notice it is there at all.

Here’s a chance to see his warty bumps:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love that they can change colors and also skin texture.  Just one of the amazing things about this animal!

And in this shot, s/he was showing me legs, almost as if it were standing up on them.  Well, I guess it was, kind of.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just a shame the water was kinda funky in that area, so it wasn’t as clear as it could be.

For some reason unknown to me, the collector urchins are really plentiful.  This one was so weighed down by a shell, I was surprised that it could move at all. Come to think of it, it didn’t move while I was in the area, so maybe it couldn’t!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do love that Olympus TG-2 macro lens!

The only reason I saw this final octopus, #4, was that it was hiding in an old den, which had been occupied by wana on my last visit.  The wana was outside the hole yesterday, and I caught just a bit of the octo-suckers:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just in the back of the den, you can see circles…those are the suckers.

And the wana next door was waving its spines:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Definitely something to stay away from……..

And a little toby, sadly, very worried about my motives:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As if I would hurt a small creature like that!! And so cute.  I once saw a film by someone else in which an eel tried to eat one of these little darlings.  The toby blew up so big, the eel couldn’t keep it in its mouth. A fab defense.

And on the way out of the water, pretty clouds:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Is it just me or do these clouds knock your socks off too?

Leave a Reply

Categories

