Posted by: octogirl7 | February 16, 2015

A Surfeit of Blessings!

A surfeit of blessings!

I am going to try my best to avoid using an exclamation mark on every paragraph, but today was so wonderful in the sunrise and the water that it might be tough to avoid!

See? There I go. (Betcha thought I’d do one on the there i go too….i’m really trying NOT to! Argghh)

OK, the basics: 3 octopuses.  Two were close to each other. You know what that means…. A few eels.  Nice enough water to go outside the fringing reef.  I didn’t have to yell at anyone (but was tempted a few times..) So of the 290 pictures/videos, I’ll pop in just a few for ya.  I don’t want to tire you out.

First, the moon:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m a tellin’ you! Nice clouds, sea and trees, with just a bit of a moon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And as I have come to expect each morning, eventually the sun puts in an appearance:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So many nice shots, I was afraid my battery would be tired before I got in the water.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t make all this loveliness, I just report it.

So I finally got into the water, although it was a struggle.  Sometimes, once the sun is actually up, show’s over for the topside.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the eye of tako #1.  Look at the red rock in the middle and follow it up the page until you see the brownness.  That’s the octopus taking a peek at me.

And the happy couple:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Tako #2 is on the left, about 2 inches in, in the middle.  The lighter beige octopus #3 is on the right, with a brown circle around its eye.  So close and yet so far.

Not sure why I think the female is the more timid.  I guess because from past viewings of pairs, the one with the sneaky leg is always more aggressive.  Guess he knows what he wants. The female can apparently be selective too: she can accept the male’s advances, but can choose not to use his contribution.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Isn’t he a fine specimen?! He is certainly proud of himself.  Or at least not afraid! (There I go again with those exclamation marks….drat! it’s so hard not to do….)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

what a beauty, standing all proud and all.

And on the other end of the spectrum, here’s the porcupine puffer:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Good thing he wasn’t needing to poke his spines out.  At this size, they probably would be amazing.  (And of course, I don’t touch them, so he didn’t puff up.)

and the clumpy nudibranch:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Upon closer examination, I noted there was sand all over this one.  You can’t tell though from this distance.

Coral still interests me, too:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Still very impressed with the Olympus TG-2’s super macro. It would probably be even more amazing with GOOD coral…H Bay is overpopulated with visitors, so it’s hard to keep anything pristine.

And Limu (seaweed) up close:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Rather like a cavern of peas..

And now I must close, as the photo uploading is stuttering!  After all, I needed one more chance for an !

Leave a Reply

Categories

