Posted by: octogirl7 | February 1, 2015

Octopus toes

Well, you’re right, they don’t actually have toes, but this reminded me of them:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just below the red rock, you can see the suckers.  She had been moving furniture, um, that is, rocks around.  She was unappreciative of me intruding too! Blew water at me. I did finally have the courtesy to move along.

Well, can you blame me?  At that point, I had only seen 2 of the 3 octopuses of the day, so I was desirous of taking more pictures and film. I find it fascinating, watching as their very adept “toes” move rocks around inside.  Of course, I’m also blown away by how the rocks don’t fall, but that’s another post (see yesterday…)

We do have the requisite sunrise photo:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lots of orange.  And lots of flat water.  JUST what I like!

It was hard to get out today to go to church…Admiring God’s handiwork IS what that’s about anyway, isn’t it?! I am a BIG fan.

We also have a couple of new kitties.  They wrench my heart.  They are not big enough to fight for the food, so they hang along the sidelines, hoping for a bite.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Who could say no to a cute face like that?  Well, being allergic and foodless, me.  But I still felt a bit bad.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course, kitty gets to see sunrises like this on a daily basis.  Perhaps she’s ahead of me after all.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s today’s collector urchin.  Just getting started.  But imagine a predator getting a mouth full of shells and rocks!

And today’s shell peeked out at me from inside a rock:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Covered up a bit, but a shell nonetheless. And I’m not sure, give me your opinion: is that a crab claw inside?  Is there a tiny crab hiding in there?

As you may remember, I am always trying to get a photo of the brighteye chromis:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was thankful the little yellow guy darted out to be above the pink coral.  I thought it was a nice contrast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s a collector urchin that had a little more time to gather its armor.

And I saw two turtles today.  Unfortunately, this one was in kinda funky water:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just swimming along, minding its own business…

Snowflake moray:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fortunately, I never see them take off after prey.  I think they just wait for it to go cruising by.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Another pack of giant trevally.  I got on the sun side this time, and I don’t think they appreciated that, as they soon swam in a line, a little bit away from me. It’s a skill that I have… I appreciate their speed, but their eyes always seem cold.  They never seem to really look at you. Unlike the Sock Monkey:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Don’t their eyes look just like the sock monkey of your childhood?  Well, of my childhood?!

And the caption for this one is: She said what?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Small mouth, but look at those teeth! Barred Filefish.  Again, another file fish that is much larger than my fantail file fish.

Pencil urchin:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And my favorite file fish.  Well, I’m beginning to sound like someone on food network, where everything you cook is your FAVORITE.  But this is a cool fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Scribbled File Fish.  Can get to 110 cm, I’m told.  Has loads of nice blue dots and that being my favorite color, you can see the appeal.  But really, they are all cool aren’t they?

Leave a Reply

Categories

