Posted by: octogirl7 | January 31, 2015

Does your siphon hang low, does it wobble to and fro?

Are you singing it in your head? Of course, it’s supposed to be ears hanging low, but this octopus reminded me of the song:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I guess I just usually see them with the siphon under the animal. In this case, it’s right above its eye.  They are SO adaptable.

And just so you know that I am widening my areas of interest, here’s an abedufduf:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Actually, I just like saying the name: abedufduf!  this one appears to be (my best guess from my new Coral Reef Fishes book) is Abedufduf lorenzi! Because it has the spot on the tail.  Actually the drawing in the book has the black spot more centrally located on the tail, so not sure I’m making a correct call on this one. These fish are quite territorial.  I have seen them chase other fish away.  They haven’t yet tried it with me, though.

So I snapped 243 pictures and films in an hour and a half. YAY. Aren’t you glad I don’t put all of them on this post?  After all, I do know you folks have lives….

And four octopuses.  Actually, I saw 4 in the first 10 minutes and then no more new ones during the entire hour and a half! I was able to go outside the reef again, as the water stayed very calm and clear.  I am all about that.

And the blue eyeliner fish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the one I call the blue eyeliner fish.  Hubby tells me that if you click on the photo, it will zoom in for ya. You might need to on this one to see the blue eyeliner.  I told my friend Betty in Texas about this fish and instead of calling it the orange spine surgeon, i called it the blue eyeliner.  More descriptive, I think.  It has nice eyeliner above its eyes.

And in the How Doesn’t That Rock Fall In? category:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The whitish rock in the center of the shot is leaning above an octo-den.  How does that NOT fall into the hole?  I’m pretty sure they don’t have any kind of glue, but they must be absolute experts at balancing.  The octopus in the den was in fact home and became octopus #1 today.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes, it’s the same octopus as above, but in this one, focus on the rocks. (My camera did) How do they not fall? I mean, the thing isn’t in a vacuum, so the waves are there to move it around.  I have only rarely seen any rocks fall down onto the octopus. Hopefully, not by my movements.

It did occur to me that perhaps the collector urchin uses rocks and stuff on its outside to prevent attacks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hard to tell, but it’s in the middle of the shot.  And it has several rocks on its outside.  Just occurred to me that it might also camouflage the animal.  After all, it’s not as cool as the octopus, which can change its color and create warts.

Achilles Tang:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think the navy blue and orange really rocks.  Perhaps I should use that in my wardrobe, which does horribly need updating.

It seems impossible, but until I looked at this picture, I had no idea there were little spots in the water.  Perhaps coral spawn, or fish eggs or something.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I did very much enjoy the group.  I love these fish: pretty and quick and they swim in an interesting manner.  The top and bottom fins both move, so they have a different look when they motor on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh yeah!  That’s what I’m talking about!  The very pretty designs on the fish’s face when the sun hits it just right.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Would I lie to you?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now, on this one, you might need to zoom in: check the center of the shot.  There’s a peacock grouper, cruising by.  They are apparently not very popular on the reef, as they eat all the other fishes.  (So far, it’s a rumor: I’ll have to check that out.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the swirling mass of giant trevally above the tangs and cornet fish.  I hadn’t seen them in this configuration before.

And so you can get a feeling for being outside the reef (and in much deeper water), I give you the Convict Tang.  Known in Hawaii as Manini.  It also means something else.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are pretty plentiful plant eaters.  Sometimes I see trumpet fish and cornet fish in their groups, hiding in their colors.  The latter two fishes are carnivores…they are hoping the manini will stir something up.

By the way, I didn’t see the same octopus outside today.  In fact, none outside at all. Bummer!  But it was still great to be out there and see more groups of fish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About to dart under the coral, that red fish is a Menpachi (Squirrel fish). They are reticent and not often out during the day.  This one stayed plenty close to a hidey spot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think of them as Rainbow Goatfishes, because the sun caught them just right to make rainbow colors on their yellow and white hides.  Pretty, non?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In this one, it’s kinda hard to believe that I didn’t see these coral spawn or fish eggs or whatever when I was in the water.. they are kinda all over!  I think that might be why the abedufduf are there. (Are you growing to like that word yet?!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Anyone know what the brown thing on the right is?  I feel as if I should know, but am drawing a blank.  If you know, let me know. Some kind of coral, I’ll betcha.

So.  Still haven’t seen my first whale of the season. But am waiting expectantly. Hoping.  I’d love to hear them when they are in the area, too.

A bientot! Until next time……..

Leave a Reply

Categories

