Posted by: octogirl7 | January 30, 2015

Contrasts

I was reminded yesterday morning of all the contrasts I see when I’m swimming.  Underwater versus over the water.  Gray clouds versus white. Fast versus slow. I like ’em.  Makes things interesting.

For the 2nd time this week, I was able to get in the water on a weekday. And as if someone knew it was a special day, I saw two octopuses swimming out. I had just seen some brown under a rock and started to think: Is that?…. and it was!  The octopus flew from one rock to another.  Exciting. And more so, because I caught it on camera.  (If it’s digital, is it still called FILM?)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There he is before he took his swim.

Nice clouds, too:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Very pretty.  Our Painter was doing great work.

Here’s the first octopus I saw…a regular:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can just see a bit of that nice aqua color on the siphon.  Love that!  God designed such a cool creature: why would “natural selection” place that color there?!

I caught a bit of the brighteye chromis near coral.  They are waay too fast for me:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Check on the top of the coral…that bit of yellow. I’ll grant you it’s hard to see. They are so cute and so bloomin’ fast!  As soon as they see me, they dive for cover. (I know I’m large, but am I really so scary?!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Number 3 sat still for me (also a regular octopus) and the zoom on my Olympus TG-2 didn’t hurt.

I did see a couple of eels, and here’s the snowflake moray:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

These are the most plentiful morays on my reef….and good thing they are not particularly aggressive. They only just look at me and occasionally open their mouths. I do love how their nostrils are long and yellow.

And I’ll end this short post with another sunrise shot:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ah!  Life is good.

Leave a Reply

Categories

