Posted by: octogirl7 | January 11, 2015

Short but sweet

Today I had less time to swim, as our family was in town.  They came to see Elton John and it was a great concert, I’m told.

So we wanted to have breakfast with them before they left town, so I swam for only an hour. But the water quality was excellent and I spotted two octopuses, so it’s all great.

The octopus spied me, then sank down into its den:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

S/he wasn’t angry maroon, so I snapped a little photo…the octopus never did come back all the way up. You can see the sandy color and the darker brown that is her eyes.  I swam on.

There was a parade of 5 decent sized trevally, so I followed them to see where the center of their search was, which is how I found octopus #2.  It peeked out, then ducked back down into its den.  Apparently the trevally had been hounding it for a while, as its attention span was quite short.  I know this because it never peeked out again while I was still watching.

Well apparently, Olympus isn’t behaving very well today!  It didn’t want to load the picture of the two little Picasso trigger fish. The nerve!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OK, that’s better!  Cute aren’t they?  They were doing a little twin dance.

Here are a couple of 4 spot butterfly fish near coral.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I always enjoy seeing these little fish, because of their good pattern and colors, but especially when they help me bring some interest to the coral head. Coral, since it often isn’t particularly colorful, needs some other colors nearby.

Of course, there was a sunrise:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was actually quite early; long before 7 a.m. roundabouts when the sun actually rises.  Nice colors, though.  YAY, God!

And the moon hung up in a cloud:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have never had much luck in photographing celestial objects, but I like these….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of my devoted followers likes the sunrise photos when I’m actually in the water, so here you go!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAnd for my sweetheart, some palm trees!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Same basic shot, but without the restroom building.

And we got to the in-laws in time and had a wonderful breakfast and time to chat, a rarity with them and their busy lives.

Leave a Reply

Categories

