Posted by: octogirl7 | January 10, 2015

5 octopuses makes it a very nice day

Yes, I was surprised too!  The water, being as it was high tide, was surprisingly clear.  ALWAYS a good thing!

This meant that I could get further down on the  right hand side of Hanauma Bay’s interior pond, and thus found a total of not only 5 octofish, but two were close together.  You just KNOW they were pals!

Especially since the male (I assume) was kinda territorial, while the female just hunkered down and moved rocks around in her den. I think of it as nesting, though it isn’t birds, it isn’t wood and there are no trees or feathers.  Like I said, nesting! ha

This is the one I think was the female:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She kept moving rocks around with her suckers.  It’s cute really; I wish i had a couple of octopuses to clean my house.

And here is the male.  I think.  Nothing but his eyes, watching me and my moves.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can just see his two eyes poking out of the rock of his den.  He later felt the need to blow sand all around his den, in a vain attempt to hide.  I figured they are pretty smart, using sand, a naturally available smokescreen, instead of their own ink! Works just as well, and you don’t deplete your stash of ink, which may be needed in the event of a REAL emergency.

I barely escaped running into an eel

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah, he was kinda close.  That’s why I didn’t get much good video.  I was too busy trying to get out of his way.

And this isn’t a great picture of the needlefish, but at least you can see them a bit!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They swim just below the surface, so it’s hard to catch them in a photo.

But I did catch the rockmover wrasse: find it on youtube; look for octopigirl7

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There were several of these wrasses; they love to follow along, hoping maybe for bits they can eat.  They don’t know I’m not there to hunt and eat; I snoop and shoot photos.

I did see a live cone shell:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you look carefully, you can see the pattern and just below, with sand sticking to it, is part of the animal inside.  You can also tell that shells get a lot of sediment and other gunk on them, which makes them harder to see.

And the lovely humu

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And I gotta admit, I am digging this macro feature on my TG-2!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was hiding inside some coral, but you can see the shiny part.  I am amazed at how tough these shots are to make!  You’ve got the water, the position of the object, and also the waves moving you.  It’s snap quickly or miss it!

If you’ve been reading along in my posts, you know I’m always trying to catch a good shot of the fantail filefish.  A couple of good chances today, but I think both times I missed it when the fish had its spike raised.  But here’s the one that’s OK:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OK, now imagine a pretty orange colored tail, and white lips and a nice pattern on the sides…ok, maybe not a great shot, but at least I caught the whole fish in the picture.

Again, if you’ve been reading these little blurbs for a while, you know I’ve recently branched out from being just octo-interested into also coral interested. Here’s a macro

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When you just look through eyes or a normal lens, you don’t see the little things sticking out of the holes…I guess if I’m going to be interested in coral, I should perhaps maybe possibly discover the appropriate terminology.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And just so you get an appreciation of how tough finding octopuses can be, here’s tako #2, above.  You can just barely see it above the red rock in the den.  Think of it as me helping you develop a “squid eye” . but please don’t participate in hunting them or actually eating them!

And I lay down on the park bench to catch this one:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yes, it’s the moon.  Above the hill facing the beach.

And I did remember to put in the sunrise, which was long over by the time I saw all of the above:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I can hear Louis Armstrong singing in my head: What a wonderful world!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

