Posted by: octogirl7 | January 4, 2015

Soda can tops

So after praying this morning at Hanauma Bay, I stepped into the water at about 7 a.m.

I always look down whenever I walk in, since I have seen jelly fish and scorpion fish and don’t want to step on either one, I saw something odd in the water.

It looked like those pop tops from soda cans. What was weird was that they were black and they were clustered around each other.  I thought, well, I don’t want to lean down if it’s something that’s gonna bite me!

So I looked a little more.  They moved with the water.  So I bend down a bit more and kept trying to figure it out.

That’s when it hit me: it was my octopus numbering system! Apparently, when I got my fins ready, I lost touch with the numbering cards and they fell into the water. DUH. So I picked them up, laughing at my ineptitude.

Nice morning, too.  Calm water.  No flashy orange clouds with the sunrise, but it was pretty anywayOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well, now that I look at it again, it is orange and pretty flashy.  Well, pretty at least!

Nice clear water, for the most part, except where the colder water washed in from the channel.

Saw a total of 5 octopuses, which in these days, is a good number.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see the white siphon in the den…and the blue lined snapper swimming over.

At the risk of once again appearing to be a doofus, I saw this from the water…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

See that blob on the beach? And how they have the area coned off?  I totally thought there was a monk seal resting on the beach.  But then….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Turns out it was the lifeguard’s surfboard.  LOL.

And for my sweetheart, here’s one of the trunk fish

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Aren’t they just too cute?! This blue one is the male….the female is black and white only.

And perhaps because I’m always snooping into holes, hoping for octopus, I’ve been seeing shells lately:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love the macro on the Olympus TG-2!!!  It lets me really zoom in.  As long as the subject stays still….always a challenge in underwater photography.

Here’s another one I saw later:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The shell is so pretty and shiny.  With the macro it was too large to get the entire shell, but the whole thing was probably only an inch and a half long.  It was empty too…

And then there was octopus #4. OMG!  This wonderful animal stayed still through all my picture taking.  A great feat, I must say, and showed intense compassion by the octopus.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It never changed to the dark maroon angry color. Even when I pulled out the macro lens and got closer:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see all the different spots that let them change color.  And its eye.  Amazing!

And the suckers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fabulous!  and during the entire time, probably 5 minutes or so, it never moved or appeared afraid.

I had been checking a former octopus den, wondering when another one would move in.  Then today I saw one reason it might not have octopus in it…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yeah.  Kinda mortal enemies, I’m thinkin’.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And here’s some wana.  Urchin.  Look for the blue colored spines…until I used the macro lens, never knew there was blue.

And a little collector urchin:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If you look closely, you can even see their little “feet” attached to the rock.

And a pair of lined butterfly swam around me:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Love these guys! About as big as a dinner plate, and very pretty.  I’ve only once seen just one on its own; always paired up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here’s another shot of octopus 2…the shy one.  I had to sneak in from behind and above..

And yes, there  was another humu

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gosh I love these guys!  I have been seeing more of these than the regular humu…I hope these guys, being more aggressive, are not scaring off the others.  Balance in all things..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI love the little wart on the top of its head…and those suckers.  A pretty good look at its eye, too.

And then there were some shots of the Ambon puffer, one of which turned out ok-ish:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They are so colorful and cute and quick.  It’s a tough job for me to catch one in focus.

And then rays from above:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Absolutely love and enjoy these rays showing through the clouds.

And, wonder of all wonders, the bird came back today too:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I do think he found some food out there…hard to imagine, but what other reason could it be?  Enjoying the sunrise? (Well, I guess I was, so why shouldn’t the bird enjoy it too?)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And a final peek from the octopus…popped up above the rocks to see if I had gone away yet. I can be so determined!

And a closing anecdote.  I am currently driving the car of a sweet friend, since ours has almost died.  So on the way back from the Bay today, I was driving only 55 because I wanted to be careful.  So under an underpass, out comes a motorcycle cop, totally using his blue lights!

I thought, Oh man, I am going to be really late for church today!  But he pulled into the middle lane and waved down a motorist who was actually doing serious speeding.  Thanks for the reprieve!

And thanks for the great snorkel….

Leave a Reply

Categories

