Posted by: octogirl7 | November 27, 2014

Chop

Today, I was thankful once again that we were able to sleep without the a/c!  Nice breezes coming in as we dozed.

However, that also meant there was wind.  Which meant there would be waves.  Which meant vis would probably be poor.  And I was not wrong in assuming that.

I did see two octopuses, my regulars.  The visibility was so bad that even though I could have stayed in the water for hours, time-wise, visibility-wise that would have been a mistake.  I did catch some nice sunrise pix.  And some chop:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAA few times, I popped up to see if anyone was swimming in my area, so I wouldn’t run into them, and I couldn’t see over the waves coming toward me. There were no huge schools of fish, having their leisurely breakfast.  There WERE fish, but they were mostly hiding behind rocks, trying not to be dashed against them.

And almost all of my pix, 71 in all, were of the sunrise and clouds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASee what I mean? Cloudy, but pretty.  Gray, but showing contrasts.  Of course, the clouds didn’t help the visibility any, as I had to wait until 6:45 to even think of getting in.

But that gave me time to sit on the Betty bench. Betty was a Ranger at the park, who died a few years ago of cancer.  That’s a real shame!  She was a hoot, and I still miss her.  She would have told me I was crazy for getting in today.  As the lifeguard also tried to do.  However, his lecture, over a loud speaker, warned us of the strong current and many other things that I couldn’t hear over the waves.  I thought of letting him know that when he talks that long, much of what he says is lost.  But what could he do? Pause between every other word?  FOLKS……WANTED TO….LET YOU….KNOW… THAT…. THERE…. ARE VERY….. STRONG CURRENTS TODAY. It would take him half an hour to give his message.

But seeing my two regular octopuses, even in this bad conditions, made the swim worthwhile.  And so did this flower:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALoving that macro lens!  I didn’t love the fact that my fave Olympus stuck while I was swimming.  I looked down and saw the word OLYMPUS stuck on the screen.  But on the advice of the Speedo Torpedo, when I got out and the camera was dried off, I took out the battery, put it back in and the thing started up again!  Thank you, God!  Didn’t want to go to France without my fave little TG-2!

And may all of you have a blessed Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

Categories

