Posted by: octogirl7 | November 16, 2014

Why waste ink?

So today the light went on, when octopus #4 picked up sand and blew it out of his den. Why waste ink when you have sand?

In what I always assume is an attempt to get me to go away from its den, this octopus gathered some sand and threw or blew a big cloud of sand into the water, in front of my face. Now, most people wouldn’t call me patient, but I was patient enough to wait until the “dust” settled. (Is it dust if it’s wet?!)

And once the sand settled, there we were looking at each other.  My concern is that this octopus hadn’t gotten the memo that my job is not to harm octopuses, but merely to document them!  With joy in God’s creation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just the coolest, aren’t they?

The one pictured above is actually another octopus, which sat patiently for my camera.  Now that’s what they should all do! If only I could figure out how to train wild octopuses.  I could have them all come to me for their photo sessions, which would be great on Sundays, when my time is limited. Unfortunately, I don’t believe they are particularly social, so there could be repercussions to that.

I was surprised to see a Big Eye Emperor fish! OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That’s it, on the lower right hand side of the shot.  Quick little bugger, too!  It didn’t seem particularly afraid of me, must just have had too many things to do to pose for photos.  I got some of it on video, and then a few photos, the best of which is shown above with the Moorish Idol.  It still amazes me how stripes can play such different roles and display such different designs. And we’re not even talking about colors.

I was even able to catch a bit of the moon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Moon and clouds, how cool is that?

More silver for ya:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Have I mentioned lately how in love I am with my Olympus camera?  It goes great guns even with just a little light.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Of course, it doesn’t hurt to have palm trees for my husband either.

Also caught today were what I now call halfway clouds:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Halfway lit…the bottom dark, the top lit up.  Awesome, right?

I also again saw two bluefin trevally circling.  And once again, couldn’t find why they were doing that.  Frustrating!

Only one eel today, a nice snowflake moray

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see the little yellow tubes for nostrils.  The whole color pattern is crazy cool.

I also saw a bunch of coral and collector urchins.  I am still not clear on why they collect things on their “heads”, but it does make interesting viewing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Again, maybe it feels the need for decoration.  Or protection. Hmmmm.

Closing with clouds, as I started the day:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh yeah.  That’s worth getting wet for.

Leave a Reply

Categories

