Posted by: octogirl7 | July 13, 2013

4 by 7

Image

Well, it was difficult to get into the water, when the clouds were this pretty on my way down the hill!

But I managed.  And I’m happy to report that I saw 4 octopus before 7 a.m.!  For a total after 2 hours of 9.  My best numbers recently.  Yay!

Of course, the only down side to the high tide was the somewhat funky visibility.  With that much water, and some waves, you have to expect to see a little bit of stuff in the water. But that also means I get to make it out to most of my fave spots to see octopus, so one takes the good with the bad.

Fortunately, today seemed a low people count, so that adds to my high octo count! No one scares my octopus, I have a good chance of seeing them.

Now mind you, I’m not saying that I don’t scare them.  But eventually they warm up to me or decide I don’t think of them as a prey item and go on about their business.

Octopus number 8 was doing a little housekeeping, moving some rocks further out of its den.  I caught some of it on video (see youtube octopigirl7)

A couple of omilu (bluefin trevally) flew through my field of vision, but they were fast and I only caught a bit of one, with bad vis, not worth uploading.

And a small turtle having breakfast.  I was almost upon him before I saw him!

And speaking of almost upon him, there were a couple of eels that I almost put my hand near.  I was just turning around and there it was!  Two different eels, same adventure.

They were well hidden in the reef too.  So well hidden that taking their picture would have been worthless.  They knew enough not only to rest in a hole (jaws agape) but also to stay on the shady side.  The sun was not upon them!

At one point, I was a bit afraid that I was seeing a dead octopus, but happily, it was a dead sea cucumber.  A brown one.  A chubby brown one.  OK, it was one of God’s creatures, but no big loss in my book. (I don’t have to love EVERY sea animal, do I?)

There were a couple of octopuses who saw me and then slid down into their dens.  If I can be patient enough, they will eventually come back up showing just a bit of eye, to see if I’m still there.  Depending on how much time I have, I will wait. It also depends on whether I think the octopus will still be flighty: if I make ’em mad, sometimes they don’t come up again for quite a while.  They’re down in their dens, stewing: what is SHE doing here again?!  Why does she keep bothering me?  We can hide from all the other visitors, why not HER?!

I was reminded again this week that some people think of octopus and get hungry.  NOT ME!  I hate it that they are a prey item for humans….and anything else, for that matter!  They are such awesome animals (smart, tricky, curious, changeable) that I hate to think of them being eaten.  One of my missions here in Hawaii is to change all that and I encourage all people that I talk to about occtopus not to eat them.  I have been known to whisper in a baby’s ear: No eat tako!!!  I HOPE they are listening, and storing up that important information for the future.

We’ll have to wait and see, won’t we?

P.S. After the snorkel, hubby and i picked up some friends and went to a garage sale.  I got a cool new basket for 50 cents!  See what I did with it?!

Image

Leave a Reply

Categories

