Posted by: octogirl7 | September 2, 2012

Octopuses hanging out in Hawaii

A quiet day on the Bay!  And the good news is that Yes, there were octopuses!  And an eel. 6 octopuses in all.

Day was kinda overcast, at least during part of the dive, so not much good video.  Just enough to “prove” I was seeing octopus!  I’ll never forget that on that dive where I saw my record 25 octopus in a 2-1/2 hour snorkel, the lady Ranger at the bay said: Are you sure you’re not just seeing the same octopus 25 times? HAH!

When I got in, there was only one other person swimming.  Ideal!  Didn’t last of course, but a great start.  Didn’t take too long to find the first octopus: in the channel.  I have some definite regulars that I see every day.  Didn’t see the baby again, sadly.  Also sad was the 5th octopus: it was looking white, hanging out, mostly hiding, in its den.  I’m no expert, but I’m thinking it either had eggs, or was on the way out of this life.  They apparently don’t eat while guarding their eggs, and they die soon afterward.  Apparently.  I know it’s God’s plan, but I’m not too enthusiastic about dead octopus….I would imagine I probably won’t need to see it, because it’s also part of the plan that animals eat each other.  Doesn’t mean I have to witness it!

The only eel I saw was a small snowflake.  Hiding of course, just showing about 2 inches out of its hole.  Also saw some 2 sided shells, well I mean they were like mussels or something.  I’ll look ’em up. And let you know.

Then it was time for rehearsal, church, singing and then teaching Chapters 8 & 9 of Acts.  A good discussion ensued.  And then we were treated to free books from the Church library!  What could be better than octopus and books?!

God willing, one more snorkel day.  Thank God for Labor Day!

Aloha

Leave a Reply

Categories

